Bulldogs’ girls win Group II relay championship


Share post:

By Tim Morris

Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School’s girls indoor track and field team added the NJSIAA Group II Relay championship to the Monmouth County title the girls won earlier this month.

- Advertisement -

The Bulldogs won championships in the 4×800-meter relay and the Sprint Medley Relay and were second in the Distance Medley Relay and the 4×400, as they scored 36 points to defeat Matawan Regional High School (24).

The Group II meet held Jan. 16 at the John Bennett Indoor Athletic Complex in Toms River.

The Bulldogs’ 4×800 team consisted of Melissa Rowland, Rebecca Ley, Morgan Steinhacker and Kaitlyn MacGillis. They were the only team to run under 10 minutes, clocking 9:59.12.

In the Sprint Medley, the Bulldogs combined their distance runners and sprinters. The 1,600-meter race began with Grace Hofferber running the 400 meters and Emily Burns and Emily Boak the 200-meter legs. Steinhacker ran the 800-meter anchor leg, and Rumson-Fair Haven held off Matawan, 4:21.42-4:21.63.

The 4×400 team of Megan, Kaitlyn MacGillis, Steinhacker and Hofferber turned in a time of 4:08.40 for second place.

The Distance Medley Relay team was Ley (1,200), Hofferber (400), Megan MacGillis (800) and Emily Hellman (1,600). They finished just over a second behind Robbinsville High School (12:39.56-12:40.64).

Christian Brothers Academy (CBA) won six events on its way to winning the Non-Public A title with 84 points.

On the track, CBA won its signature race, the Distance Medley Relay, with Colin Trigani, J.P. Merkler, Sean Martinek and Drake Anzano. Their winning time was 10:44.35.

Anzano anchored the Sprint Medley victory with Mike Zupko, Christian Berger and Brendan Bodisch running the first three legs. They clocked 3:39.44.

The team of Tim Jacoutot, Bodisch, Andrew Carnale and Berger won the 4×400 (3:27.95).

CBA’s versatility was on display in the hurdles, as Berger, Zupko, Colton Brooks and Jacoutot took the shuttle hurdles in 31.69.

In the field, Will Lutkewitte had the best throw of the shot put competition, 52-9. That, combined with teammate Matt Markowski’s 45-3¼ gave the duo the championship.

John Healy (12-0) and Brooks (10-6) won the pole vault relay.

Next on the calendar is the Shore Conference Championships back at the Bennett complex Jan. 22.

Stay Connected


Current Issue

Latest News

Related articles

Mustangs continue to battle following tough stretch on the court

MARLBORO — It is the time of the season where the "toughness" of the Marlboro High School girls...

Freehold Township hockey team rolls to seven-game win streak

There has been a storm of winning going on for the Freehold Township High School hockey team since...

Leger, Mangini lead Braves to 66-63 victory over Allentown

MANALAPAN — After losing consecutive games to Shore Conference A North Division rivals Freehold Township High School and...

Manalapan grapplers improve to 10-1 with victory over Colonials

MANALAPAN — The Manalapan High School wrestling team's 2022-23 home opener on Jan. 4 against Freehold High School...