HomeNews TranscriptNews Transcript NewsRaymond, Gizzo will lead board

Raymond, Gizzo will lead board

By Peter Elacqua

COLTS NECK – Dr. Kimberly Raymond has been re-elected as president of the Colts Neck K-8 School District Board of Education. The board held its annual reorganization meeting on Jan. 6 at the Conover Road Primary School.

At the start of the meeting, Business Administrator and Board Secretary Vincent Marasco swore in the incumbents who won three-year terms in the November election: Kevin O’Connor, Heather Tormey and Raymond.

When the floor was opened to nominations for president, Kimberly Eydelman nominated Raymond, who served as president in 2015. Board members voted 8-0 to return Raymond to the position in 2016. Board member Margaret Hernandez was absent from the meeting.

Kathryn Gizzo was elected to serve as vice president in an 8-0 vote.

“I thank my fellow board members for electing me vice president,” Gizzo said. “I am honored to serve in this role. I am very excited to be working with such dedicated and passionate people, including board members, our superintendent and administrative team, teachers and staff, students, parents and the community.

“I look forward to working with my colleagues to advance initiatives that support our district mission to empower and inspire students to be confident, creative, self-sufficient learners who maximize their strengths and talents and contribute as responsible participants in their ever-expanding world. I am confident we will have a very productive 2016,” she said.

Board members appointed Irene Sessa as the panel’s representative to the New Jersey and Monmouth County school boards associations.

For the upcoming year, O’Connor will chair the Buildings and Grounds/Safety and Security Committee and Eydelman, Gizzo and Hernandez will be members of the committee.

Tormey will chair the Communications Committee and Danielle Alpaugh, Eydelman and O’Connor will be on the committee.

Sessa will chair the Curriculum Committee and Jacquelyn Hoagland, Raymond and Tormey will be on the committee.

Gizzo will chair the Finance/Negotiations Committee and Hoagland, Raymond and Sessa will be on the committee.

Hoagland will chair the Policy Committee and Alpaugh, Hernandez and O’Connor will be on the committee.

The next meeting of the board is scheduled for 7 p.m. Jan. 20 in the Colts Neck Board of Education offices, 70 Conover Road.

- Advertisment -

Stay Connected


Current Issue