Karcz, Andree selected as Shore Players of the Year


Share post:

The Shore Conference coaches have spoken, and Stephanie Karcz and Pat Andree are the basketball Players of the Year.

Karcz, who led the Middletown High School South girls basketball team to a fourth straight A North Division title with a 48-0 record during the stretch and a third consecutive NJSIAA Central Jersey, Group III title in 2015-16 was the coaches’ choice as the best female player in the conference.

- Advertisement -

Andree, who led Christian Brothers Academy (CBA) to another A North title and became CBA’s all-time leading scorer during the season, was the pick as the Shore Conference’s best male player.

In the voting for the All-Shore Teams, Desiree Allen of Neptune High School, St. John Vianney High School’s Kelly Campbell and Kim Evans and Manasquan High School’s Stella Clark and Faith Masonius were named to the Girls First Team along with Karcz.

Named to the Second Team were Nicole Morris and Hannah Scanlan of Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School, Che’Kasha Andrews of Long Branch High School, Mikayla Markham of St. Rose High School and Dara Mabrey of Manasquan.

Manasquan’s Lisa Kukoda was the Coach of the Year.

For the boys, the First Team players are Brendan Barry of Rumson-Fair Haven, Elijah Barnes of Mater Dei Prep, Bryan Antoine of Ranney School, Ryan Jensen of Manasquan and Peyton Wejnert of Southern Regional High School along with Andree.

Second Team honors went to Lloyd Daniels of Colts Neck High School, NyQuan McCombs of Mater Dei, Scottie Lewis of Ranney, Amir Tyler of Lakewood High School and Jack Sheehan of Manasquan.

Manasquan swept the coaching honors with the Blue Warriors’ Andrew Bilodeau named the boys Coach of the Year.

Girls All-Division Teams

The coaches also selected their All-Division Teams.

A North: To no surprise, Karcz was the A North Player of the Year. Other First Team selections were Alexandra Balsamo and Haley Dalonzo of Middletown High School South, Tatum Evans of Marlboro High School, Hailee Hallard of Middletown High School North and Sierra Strong of Freehold High School.

Second Team picks were Rebecca Hamilton of Howell High School, Jessica Iacobellis of Marlboro, Harlie Kneler of Freehold Township High School, Erin Rotondo of Manalapan High School and Mamani Williams of Middletown North.

Ed Jones of Middletown North was the Coach of the Year.

A Central: Kerwin Award winner Campbell of St. John Vianney was the A Central Player of the Year. Along with her, the First Team picks were all from the All-Shore Teams: Evans of St. John Vianney, Morris and Scanlan from Rumson-Fair Haven and Masonius of Manasquan.

A Central Second Team players were Tori Hyduke of Rumson-Fair Haven, Jen Inman of Holmdel High School, Tina Lebron and Zoe Pero of St. John Vianney and Mabrey of Manasquan.

Manasquan’s Kukoda was the Coach of the Year.

B North: Neptune’s Allen was the Player of the Year and is joined on the First Team by Andrews of Long Branch, Elise Brown of Colts Neck, Maureen Coakley and Josie Larkins of Red Bank Catholic (RBC) High School and Katie Hyde of Wall High School.

Tracey Brereton of Matawan Regional High School, Rose Caverly of RBC, Emily Fitzgerald of Red Bank Regional High School, Lola Mullaney of Colts Neck and Brianna Love of Neptune were Second Team selections.

The Coach of the Year was Glenn Jansen of Colts Neck.

B Central: Maggie Klatt and Cassidy Stimpson of Mater Dei, Jen Louro and Lucy Thomas of St. Rose and Stephanie Walters and Keansburg High School were First Team picks along with Player of the Year Markham from St. Rose.

Making the Second Team were Giana Piccini of Keyport High School, Kiara Wood of Asbury Park High School, Emma Curry of Henry Hudson Regional High School, Cameron Barnes of Point Pleasant Beach High School and Elizabeth Marsicano of St. Rose.

Keyport’s Deboney Braithwaite of Keyport was the Coach of the Year.

Boys All-Division Teams

A North: Selected to the A North First Team were Nick Facendo and John Carroll of Freehold Township, P.J. Ringel of Marlboro, Rob Higgins of Middletown North and CBA’s Jack MCGuire, along with Player of the Year Andree.

Matan Zucker of Manalapan, Dan Weiss of Marlboro, Steve Staklinski of Freehold Township, Dan Cacciatore of Howell and Colin Frawley of Middletown North made the Second Team.

Middletown North’s Mike Iasparro was named Coach of the Year.

A Central: Rumson-Fair Haven’s Barry, the Kewin Award winner, was the A Central Player of the Year. He is joined on the First Team by Sheehan and Jensen of Manasquan, Zach Howarth and Grant Goode of St. John Vianney and Kyle Cardaci of Holmdel.

Joe Strand and Eddie Tynion of Raritan High School, Devin Jensen of Manasquan and Mickey Schluter and Elijah McAllister of Rumson-Fair Haven made the Second Team.

Manasquan’s Bilodeau was named Coach of the Year.

B North: Colts Neck’s Daniels was the B North Player of the Year, and the First Team included Tom O’Reilly of Colts Neck, Eddie Hahn of RBC, Anthony Velasques of Long Branch and Barry Brown Neptune.

The Second Team has Scott Bradley of Ocean Township High School, Sadiq Palmer and Devin Cooper of Red Bank Regional, Jamar Foster of Long Branch and Evan Madigan of RBC.

Colts Neck head coach Lou Piccola was the B North Coach of the Year.

B Central: Mater Dei Prep’s McCombs was the B Central Player of the Year, and rounding out the First Team were his teammate Barnes and Kyle Elliot, Lewis and Antoine of Ranney and Jimmy Panzini of Point Pleasant Beach.

Travis Alvarez of Keyport, Chris Autino of Ranney, J.P. Krotulis of St. Rose, Tom DeFillippo of Henry Hudson and Mike Rice Point Pleasant Beach were the B Central Second Team.

The Coach of the Year was Mater Dei’s Ben Gamble.

Stay Connected


Current Issue

Latest News

Related articles

Mustangs continue to battle following tough stretch on the court

MARLBORO — It is the time of the season where the "toughness" of the Marlboro High School girls...

Freehold Township hockey team rolls to seven-game win streak

There has been a storm of winning going on for the Freehold Township High School hockey team since...

Lions skate past Monroe Township; gear up for conference tournament

The Middletown North High School hockey team is finding its stride on the ice with the 2022-23 postseason...

Harris, Hicks, Biasi spark Falcons to win over Matawan; key player out injured

TINTON FALLS — The Monmouth Regional High School girls basketball team will carry a 9-2 record into its...