NJSIAA honors student-athletes with scholarship awards


The New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association (NJSIAA) recently honored 217 high school student-athletes for their achievements, awarding $172,000 in college scholarships.

Each NJSIAA member high school has the opportunity to select one senior student as their scholar-athlete of the year. Those students then attend the scholar-athlete luncheon, where, through a random drawing, they had the chance to win a college scholarship from one of multiple sponsors.

The scholarship winners from Monmouth County were Sarah Elice, Colts Neck High School; Hannah Lee, Holmdel High School; Gabriella Ferrigine, Red Bank Catholic High School; Nicole Vaiani, Ranney School; Sarah Settlecows, Allentown High School; Mark Fasano, Freehold Township High School; Kelly Garretson, Howell High School; Sarah Baker, Red Bank Regional High School; Christian Lebron, St. John Vianney High School; Margaret Klatt, Mater Dei Prep; Payleight Behan, Middletown High School North; Jonathan Alicea, Christian Brothers Academy; Anjali Prabhat, Freehold High School; Reily Radosevich, Manalapan High School; Adam Eliot, Matawan Regional High School; Christian Boujao, Monmouth Regional High School; Jake Talarico, Ocean Township High School; and Kazia Moore, Raritan High School.

Among the Ocean County scholarship winners were Chris Murphy of Jackson Liberty High School and Gabrielle Wilson of Jackson Memorial High School.

“This dinner is among my favorite annual events because we’re able both to recognize and, in some cases, provide a bit of financial assistance to some of New Jersey’s finest student-athletes,” Steve Timko, the NJSIAA’s executive director, said in a prepared statement. “Each of the young people in attendance truly stands out at their individual schools, and our association is honored to be able to bring them all together for this special evening.”