Home News Transcript News Transcript News Freehold school board awards merit bonuses

Freehold school board awards merit bonuses

Schools logo

By Matthew Sockol
Staff Writer

FREEHOLD – Administrative achievements in the Freehold Borough K-8 School District have resulted in the issuance of merit pay bonuses.

On June 6, the Board of Education approved the payment of merit bonuses to Superintendent of Schools Rocco Tomazic for achieving qualitative merit goals. The merit goals were approved by Lester Richens, the interim executive county superintendent of schools, on Nov. 30, 2015, authorizing the board to award Tomazic with the merit pay.

According to the board, Tomazic will take full charge of the 2016-17 master scheduling process for the Freehold Intermediate School, where students in grades six through eight are educated. This process will include developing courses, student requests, school schedule, teacher and room assignments, mass schedule testing and scheduling for teachers and rooms shared with the Park Avenue Elementary School.

Tomazic also will transfer all personnel files from paper and input them into the Genesis HR module. This will position the district for its move to an integrated personnel-business system now that its budget exceeds $25 million, according to the board.

Because he achieved two qualitative merit goals, Tomazic received two merit bonuses, each in the amount of $3,875, which is 2.5 percent of his annual salary.

In other business, the board accepted the donation of a pink Cozy Coupe for pre-kindergarten pupil use from residents Lynn and Ron Reich.

The board accepted the donation of a ping pong table for the Freehold Intermediate School Physical Education Department from Larry Lukin of Langhorne, Pa.

Finally, the board accepted the donation of books for the Park Avenue Elementary School from Debra Gafen of Robbinsville.

Board President Michael Lichardi, Vice President Susan Greitz and board members Jim Keelan, Michele Tennant, Paul Jensen, Paul Ceppi, Bruce Patrick and Margaret Rogers voted in favor of the merit bonuses and the donations. Board member Annette Jordan was absent.

Exit mobile version