Home Edison Sun Edison News

Candidates file to run in primary election

Voting on Election Day, voting ballot

Staff Writer

A full slate of candidates has filed petitions to run in the primary election on June 6.

In Edison, there will be a mayoral race between Edison Mayor Thomas Lankey, a Democrat, and Republican Gaetano “Guy” Gaspari. The mayoral term is four years.

There will be a Township Council race for the three, four-year term seats.

The race will be between Democrat Incumbents Robert Diehl and Alvaro Gomez and newcomer Samip “Sam” Joshi and Republican Wayne Mascola, who is a former councilman, and Republican newcomers Maria Orchid and Larry Deutchman.

In Metuchen, there will be an uncontested Borough Council race for the two, three-year term seats between Democrat Incumbents Jay Muldoon and Reed Leibfried and Republicans Richard Menziuso and Daniel Lebar.

In Woodbridge, there will be an uncontested Township Council primary race for the four-year term Ward seats.

Ward 1: Democrat Incumbent Nancy Bader Drumm and Republican Lori Varnachio Greiza.

Ward 2: Democrat Newcomer Harold R. “Howie” Bauer, Jr. and Republican Paul Lund, Jr.

Ward 3: Democrat Incumbent Cory S. Spillar and Republican Kevin J. Garcia.

Ward 4: Democrat Incumbent Virbhadra N. “Viru” Patel and Republican Paul Danielczyk.

Ward 5: Democrat Incumbent Deborah “Debbie” Meehan and Republican Rocco Genova.

Exit mobile version