Home News Transcript News Transcript News

Four enter race for two seats in Manalapan

By Mark Rosman
Staff Writer

MANALAPAN – Republican Township Committee members Susan Cohen and Jack McNaboe will seek new three-year terms on Manalapan’s governing body this year. They will be challenged by a pair of Democrats.

Cohen and McNaboe were unanimously selected to seek re-election by the Manalapan Republican Committee, according to Republican Chairman Glen Mendez.

Mendez said Cohen and McNaboe are “intensely dedicated, constantly striving to make themselves better and to make Manalapan an even greater place to live. They have a strong record of proven abilities and their dedication is unwavering. It makes me feel that the future of Manalapan is in safe hands with Susan and Jack at the helm.”

According to the township clerk, Democrats Michael Burns and Lawrence Furman have filed nominating petitions to run for the two available three-year terms on the governing body.

Township Committeeman David Kane is the municipal chairman of the Manalapan Democrats. Kane said that at this time, the Democrats “will defer comment on the election.”

Republicans hold a 4-1 majority on the Township Committee with Cohen, McNaboe, Committeewoman Mary Ann Musich and Committeeman Kevin Uniglicht. Kane represents the Democratic party.

Cohen has served on the committee since 2007, with the exception of 2011. She is serving as Manalapan’s mayor in 2017, after previously serving as mayor in 2012 and 2013.

McNaboe has served on the governing body since 2013. He has served on the Planning Board for 10 years. McNaboe is a past mayor and is serving as Manalapan’s deputy mayor in 2017.

An individual who wants to run as an independent candidate has until June 6 to file a nominating petition to gain a line on the Nov. 7 ballot.

Exit mobile version