East Windsor, Hightstown voters have clear choices


By Lea Kahn, Staff Writer
East Windsor Township and Hightstown Borough voters will go to the polls Nov. 7 to choose candidates for elected office – from local municipal officials and school board members to state- and county-level officials.
The polling places will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.
At the local level in East Windsor Township, the three incumbent Township Council members – Democrats Louise Daniels, Alan Rosenberg and Perry M. Shapiro – are running unopposed for four-year terms. The Republican Party did not field a slate of candidates.
In Hightstown Borough, incumbent Borough Council members Connor Montferrat and Charles “Lee” Stults – both Republicans – are running unopposed for another three-year term on the governing body. The Democratic Party did not field a slate of candidates.
At the East Windsor Regional School District Board of Education, the three incumbent school board members – one who represents East Windsor Township and two who represent Hightstown Borough – are running unopposed in their quest for another three-year term.
Incumbent school board member Erica DiRaimondo, who represents East Windsor Township, and incumbent school board members Peter J. Bussone and Jennifer P. Drake, who represent Hightstown Borough, are assured of re-election.
At the top of the ballot, Democratic Party nominee Philip Murphy is squaring off against Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno, a Republican, for the office of Governor. There are five additional candidates running for governor on assorted tickets. The term is for four years.
In the 14th Legislative District, incumbent State Sen. Linda R. Greenstein, who is a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Party nominee Ileana Schirmer. The term is for four years.
For the General Assembly in the 14th Legislative District, Democratic incumbent Assemblymen Daniel R. Benson and Wayne P. DeAngelo are facing Republican Party challengers Kristian Stout and Steven Uccio. The term is for two years.
Incumbent Mercer County Sheriff John A. “Jack” Kemler, a Democrat, is seeking re-election to a three-year term. He is being challenged by Republican Party nominee Charles “Chuck” Farina.
And at the Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders, Republican Party nominees Jeff Hewitson and Michelle Noone are seeking to unseat incumbent Freeholders John A. Cimino and Lucylle R.S. Walter – both Democrats – for a three-year term on the Freeholder board.