No election surprises for Rocky Hill Borough Council


By Lea Kahn, Staff Writer
There were no surprises in store for candidates for Rocky Hill Borough Council, who faced no opposition in the Nov. 7 general election.
Incumbent Mayor Philip Kartsonis won election to fill out an unexpired term as mayor, earning 214 votes. He ran on the “Rocky Hill United” ticket, and is filling out the last year of former Rocky Hill Mayor Jeff Donahue’s term, which ends in 2018.
Rocky Hill voters also returned Borough Councilmen William “Billy” Dawson and Robert Uhrik to office for three-year terms. The two men, who ran on the Democratic Party ticket, earned 237 votes and 243 votes, respectively.
Rocky Hill voters also elected Amy Kirtland, who ran on the “One Rocky Hill Party” ticket, to fill out the unexpired term of former Councilman Anthony Sciaraffo. He resigned from Borough Council earlier this year.
Across town at the Montgomery Township School District Board of Education, there was a four-way race for three seats on the school board. The term is for three years.
Incumbent school board member Amy Miller was re-elected, earning 3,020 votes. Paul M. Johnson received 2,546 votes and Ranjana R. Rao got 2,124 votes. Paul Blodgett trailed the top three vote-getters, earning 2,107 votes.