HomeEB SentinelEB Sentinel NewsMonroe welcomes lifelong resident to Township Council

Monroe welcomes lifelong resident to Township Council

MONROE – A new member was sworn in to the Monroe Township Council, joining several returning members.

“I’d like to welcome everyone and I look forward to building on a cohesive relationship with all of our members, both new and familiar,” Monroe Mayor Gerald W. Tamburro said during the Jan. 3 reorganization meeting, according to a statement provided by the township. “This is a group of dedicated leaders who will be working together for a common purpose and in the best interest of the taxpayers over the next few years.”

New to the council, Charles Dipierro took his oath alongside his wife, mother, children and extended family members. He is a lifelong resident of Monroe and a product of the township’s school system, according to the statement. He went on to attend Richard Stockton College in Galloway, earning a bachelor’s degree in business and accounting with a minor in computer science.

Professionally, he has owned several local businesses that included landscaping, contracting and paving companies. Dipierro opened his own real estate company in Monroe in 1999, according to the statement.

In 2004, Dipierro was elected as a commissioner for Fire District No. 1, where he has served as chairman for the past eight years, according to the statement.

“I want to do what’s right for the people,” Dipierro said subsequent to taking his oath of office, according to the statement. “Moving forward, we need to work together.”

Elizabeth Schneider entered into her second term as councilwoman, and was unanimously selected to serve as council vice president. Fellow Councilman Stephen Dalina was selected as president, each taking on their respective roles for a second year, according to the statement.

Following her successful bid in November, Councilwoman Miriam Cohen, who was tapped last March to replace Leslie Koppel after her appointment to the Middlesex County Freeholder board, will serve out the unexpired two-year term.

Councilman Leonard Baskin, appointed to his seat in July, was also sworn-in to his first four-year term with the township.



- Advertisment -

Stay Connected