Voters will elect officials, school board members on Nov. 6

East Windsor and Hightstown voters will go to the polls Nov. 6 to choose candidates for elected office – from municipal officials and school board members to federal, state and county offices. Polling locations will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In Hightstown, incumbent Mayor Lawrence D. Quattrone, a Democrat, will square off against Republican Party nominee J.P. Gibbons for a four-year term as mayor.

Incumbent Borough Council members Susan Bluth and Dimitri Musing, both Democrats, are facing Republican Party nominees Jeanne M. Ruggiero-Mair and Milton O. Matamoros for three-year terms on the governing body.

In the East Windsor Regional School District Board of Education, five candidates are competing for three available seats to represent East Windsor. There is no contest to represent Hightstown on the board.

Incumbent board members Paul Connolly, Robert Laverty and Alice Weisman are facing challengers Christina “Tina” Lands and Colleen Murphy for three-year terms.

Incumbent board member Jennifer Drake is running unopposed for the lone Hightstown seat that is up for grabs. Two of the nine seats on the board are reserved for Hightstown representatives.

At the top of the ballot, U.S. Sen. Robert Menendez, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Party nominee Bob Hugin for a six-year term in the U.S. Senate to represent New Jersey.

Although attention has been focused on Menendez and Hugin, six more candidates are listed on the ballot – Tricia Flanagan, Hank Schroeder, Madelyn R. Hoffman, Kevin Kimple, Natalie Lynn Rivera and Murray Sabrin.

In the 12th Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Party nominee Daryl Kipnis. The term is for two years.

In New Jersey’s 15th Legislative District, two Democratic incumbent Assembly members are running in a special election to complete the unexpired terms of former Assembly members Elizabeth Maher Muoio and Reed Gusciora, whose two-year terms would have ended in 2019.

Incumbent Assemblywoman Verlina Reynolds-Jackson, who was appointed after Muoio left the Assembly, is squaring off against Republican Party challenger Tracy R. Sinatra and Robert Edward Forchion Jr. of the Repeal Bail Reform Party.

Incumbent Assemblyman Anthony Verrelli, who was appointed after Gusciora left the Assembly, is facing Republican Party nominee Justin Tibbetts and Alex Bethea of the Integrity Transparency Accountability Party.

At the Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders, incumbent freeholders Ann M. Cannon, Pasquale “Pat” Colavita and Samuel T. Frisby Sr., all Democrats, are being challenged by Republican Party nominees Michael Silvestri, Mary R. Walker and Cynthia Larsen for a three-year term.

Also, Democratic incumbent Freeholder Nina D. Melker is running unopposed to complete the term previously held by Anthony Verrelli. The final year of that term will be 2019.

Finally, voters will be asked to decide on Public Question No. 1, which has been dubbed the “Securing Our Children’s Future Bond Act.”

If the ballot question is approved, it would authorize the state to borrow $500 million in general obligation bonds. Of that amount, $350 million would be earmarked for career and technical education grants at county vocational schools for school security projects at grades K-12 public schools.

Also, $100 million would be set aside to repair or replace water supply infrastructure to improve water quality for school districts – local, regional, county special services and county vocational schools, plus school districts under state intervention. The remaining $50 million would be allocated for career and technical grants at county colleges.