Voters will elect officials, school board members on Nov. 6

Lawrence Township voters will go to the polls Nov. 6 to choose candidates for elected office – from the school board to federal, state and county level officials. Polling locations will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In the Lawrence Township Public Schools, six candidates are vying for three three-year terms on the Board of Education, and two candidates are competing to complete an unexpired term.

Incumbent board members JoAnn Groeger, Joyce Scott and Kevin Van Hise are facing challengers Tam Ngo, Jennifer Perry and Keva Stewart for three-year terms.

Incumbent board member Dana Drake is facing challenger Becky DiPierro for the unexpired term that will end in January 2021.

At the top of the ballot, U.S. Sen. Robert Menendez, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Party nominee Bob Hugin for a six-year term in the U.S. Senate to represent New Jersey.

Although attention has been focused on the contest between Menendez and Hugin, six more candidates are listed on the ballot – Tricia Flanagan, Hank Schroeder, Madelyn R. Hoffman, Kevin Kimple, Natalie Lynn Rivera and Murray Sabrin.

In the 12th Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman is being challenged by Republican Party nominee Daryl Kipnis. The term is for two years.

In New Jersey’s 15th Legislative District, two Democratic incumbent Assembly members are running in a special election to complete the unexpired terms of former Assembly members Elizabeth Maher Muoio and Reed Gusciora, whose two-year terms would have ended in 2019.

Incumbent Assemblywoman Verlina Reynolds-Jackson, who was appointed after Muoio left the Assembly, is facing Republican Party challenger Tracy R. Sinatra and Robert Edward Forchion Jr. of the Repeal Bail Reform Party.

Incumbent Assemblyman Anthony Verrelli, who was appointed after Gusciora left the Assembly, is facing Republican Party nominee Justin Tibbetts and Alex Bethea of the Integrity Transparency Accountability Party.

At the Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders, incumbent freeholders Ann M. Cannon, Pasquale “Pat” Colavita and Samuel T. Frisby Sr., all Democrats, are being challenged by Republican Party nominees Michael Silvestri, Mary R. Walker and Cynthia Larsen for a three-year term.

Also, Democratic incumbent Freeholder Nina D. Melker is running unopposed to complete the unexpired term of former freeholder Anthony Verrelli. The final year of the term is 2019.

Finally, voters will be asked to decide on Public Question No. 1, which has been dubbed the “Security Our Children’s Future Bond Act.”

If the ballot question is approved, it would authorize the state to borrow $500 million in general obligation bonds. Of that amount, $350 million would be earmarked for career and technical education grants at county vocational schools, and for school security projects at grades K-12 public schools.

Also, $100 million would be set aside to repair or replace water supply infrastructure to improve water quality for school districts – local, regional, county special services and county vocational schools, plus schools under state intervention. The remaining $50 million would be allocated for career and technical grants at county colleges.