Teachers and educational service professionals receive governor’s awards


Seven teachers and seven educational services professionals – one from each school – have been named as the Governor’s Educators of the Year, according to Lawrence Township Public Schools officials.

The New Jersey Department of Education, which oversees the Governor’s Teacher/Educational Services Professional Recognition Program, aims to recognize the state’s best teachers and educational services professionals in each school district.

By honoring their exemplary teachers and educational services professionals, schools promote a culture that recognizes excellence, creates a sense of pride and brings public attention to the work of outstanding educators, said Assistant Commissioner of Education Linda P. Eno.

Meanwhile, Superintendent of Schools Ross Kasun said the school district is pleased to recognize this group of dedicated and skilled educators as the 2018-2019 Governor’s Educator of the Year recipients.

“Each year, their selection gives us the opportunity to celebrate the combined talents of the special teachers and important service providers outside the classroom who, combined, all lead to student success. We are quite proud of them,” Kasun said.

At the Ben Franklin Elementary School, pre-kindergarten special education teacher Kimberly Vinch and special education assistant Jayashri Shretty were honored, along with Slackwood Elementary School first-grade teacher Cassandra Foehr and special education assistant Deborah Dorner.

Special education teacher Alison Burt and school psychologist Melissa Dente were honored at the Eldridge Park School, and pre-school teacher Mary Bergan and special education assistant Bernadette Housel were honored at the Lawrenceville Elementary School.

At the Lawrence Intermediate School, special education teacher Lori Boggs and special education assistant Alice Garber were honored, along with Lawrence Middle School physical education teacher Kathryn Reynolds and school psychologist Rebecca Guenther.

And at Lawrence High School, industrial arts teacher Lawrence Rush and school social worker Lisa Szczeck were chosen for honors.

The teachers and educational service professionals were nominated by their peers. The nominations were reviewed by a selection panel that included administrators, school board members, teachers, educational service professionals and parents.