East Brunswick swears in new chief of police and 13 officers

(Left to right) Mayor Brad Cohen swearing-in newly appointed Chief of Police Frank LoSacco , who was joined by his family and Senator Patrick Diegnan Jr. on July 31 at the Jo Ann Magistro Performing Arts Center, located at 200 Rues Ln.

EAST BRUNSWICK–Newly appointed Chief of Police Frank LoSacco and 13 other officers were sworn in during the East Brunswick Police Department’s promotion ceremony. 

Mayor Brad Cohen said, “This is probably a once-in-a-generation type of motion exercise. As many of you know, many of our command staff all reached 25 years of service at one time and as a result with all of them leaving the type of promotion ceremony that you are seeing here tonight probably will only happen one time in a generation. So I think that in deference to the retiring command staff, I think we should provide a big round of applause for the many years. There are about 150 years of combined services from the staff that is leaving.”   

More than 200 residents attended the ceremony on July 31 at Hammarskjold Middle School’s Jo Ann Magistro Performing Arts Center.

“I believe in my heart that the biggest reason East Brunswick is one of the safest communities in all of Middlesex County, probably most of New Jersey, is on the backs of the individuals that are in this room and those who preceded them who have provided us with role models for the best police department that I believe we have in this state,” Cohen said. 

Amongst the attendees were Senator Bob Smith, Senator Patrick Diegnan Jr., Assemblywoman Nancy Pinkin, Assemblyman Robert Karabinchak, Spotswood Mayor Edward Seely, Township Council members, Superintendent Victor Valeski, Board of Education President Vicki Becker, Business Administrator Joseph Criscuolo, Board of Education Member Mark Csizmar, and Middlesex County Prosecutor Andrew Carey.   

Cohen swore in LoSacco, who was joined by members of his family and Diegnan.

“Tonight I not only renew my commitment to serving my community, but I assure to the men and women that I will serve and protect you as well,” LoSacco said. “We are going to work as a team for our community. I also wanted to assure the families that I will do everything that I can to educate, train and equip your loved ones with everything needed to come home safe.” 

LoSacco said there are 14 new police leaders and five new police officers joining the police department.

Promoted to captain was Drew Walsh. 

Promoted to lieutenant were Frank Sutter, Wade Gordon, Robert Zielinski, Joseph Kowal, Donald Carruth and Charles Bobal.

Glenn Tabasko Jr., Brian Ventura, Michael Egan, Anthony DeSantis, Daniel Unkel and Matthew Unkel were promoted to sergeant.

Michael Stewart, Mitchell Ngai, Shawn Yeager, Christopher Suydam and Michael Manning were sworn in to their new positions as patrolmen.   

St. Bartholomew’s Rev. Thomas Welsh delivered the invocation for the ceremony. 

A moment of silence was taken to honor those who have died in the line of duty and who serve in the United States military. 

“[I] wanted to individually thank the people who have been so supportive and influential throughout my law enforcement journey … so it would take us well into the night if I tried to name everyone … so I am not going to mention anyone by name and I hope you understand that,” LoSacco said. 

LoSacco continued to say, “I began reflecting on my life growing up in East Brunswick and working for the town since 1987 and after reflecting on everything I came to realize one thing and I am sure you are shocked, but it’s not about me it’s about celebrating with some absolutely amazing people that I have had the honor of working alongside for the past 31 years. The men and women who work for this town and all those who have served in the past are amazingly professional, decent, caring men and women. They constantly demonstrate self-sacrifice and commitment to making our town better.”  

LoSacco also thanked his family and his colleagues for always supporting him throughout his law enforcement career.  

Aldersgate United Methodist Church Rev. Erica Munoz delivered a closing invocation for the ceremony. 

Contact Vashti Harris at [email protected].