Bordentown Township Committee honors high school softball team

The Bordentown Township Committee honored the 2019 Bordentown Regional High School Softball team at an Aug. 12 meeting. The softball team earned a successful season, which included a sectional championship for the first time in the program's history as well as an appearance in the state final. Photo by Thomas Wiedmann

The members of the Bordentown Township Committee have paid tribute to the historic season the Bordentown Regional High School softball team completed in 2019.

In a year when the team won its first state sectional crown and played in the Group 2 state championship game at Kean University, Union, on June 1, the Scotties fashioned a record of 20-7.

The 2019 squad set the bar for future teams as its efforts stand as the program’s most successful showing to date. Township Committee members honored the squad’s achievements with a proclamation during a recent meeting.

“We could not be more proud,” Mayor Stephen Benowitz said. “On behalf of the committee and the township, we are very proud. We love and respect what you have done.”

The Scotties were led by cleanup hitter and senior catcher Makenza Goleniecki, who paced the offense with a batting average over .400, 30 hits, 24 RBIs, 25 runs scored and five home runs, including a solo shot in the state championship game.

Outfielder Angelina Marino hit .476 from the leadoff spot and shortstop Brianna Fischer hit .429 in a lineup that could strike from any position in the batting order.

Whether it was the Scotties’ championship victory at the 2019 Rancocas Valley Elite Softball Tournament, their sectional title or their run toward the state final, they will have much to look forward to in 2020 as pitcher Annabella Pisapia will return for her senior year as one of the squad’s leaders.

Through 119.1 innings pitched, Pisapia fashioned a 14-5 record, allowed 20 earned runs and struck out more than 200 batters during the 2019 campaign.

Multiple players earned honors at the completion of the season. Pisapia and Goleniecki earned First Team Liberty Division honors and Michaela Luyber, Annabella Marino, Hailey Cope and Angelina Marino earned Second Team Liberty Division honors.

Exit mobile version