HomeExaminerExaminer NewsNo residents file to run for seats on Millstone Township Board of...

No residents file to run for seats on Millstone Township Board of Education

MILLSTONE – No residents have filed nominating petitions to run for three available three-year terms on the Millstone Township K-8 School District Board of Education in the Nov. 5 election.

The terms currently held by David DePinho, Sal Casale and Kevin McGovern will expire at the end of the year. DePinho is serving as the board president in 2019. They could not be reached for comment.

The deadline for a resident who wanted to run for a seat on the school board to file a nominating petition to be on the Nov. 5 ballot was July 29.

According to the Monmouth County Clerk’s Office, Casale, DePinho and McGovern are not seeking re-election. No one from Millstone Township filed a nominating petition to appear on the ballot.

Because no candidates will be listed on the ballot, the winners of the terms could be determined by write-in votes. If write-in candidates are not elected to the open seats, the seats will be filled by appointment.

McGovern has been a member of the board since 2007 and is currently the longest-serving member of the board.

Casale initially served on the board from 2008-14. He rejoined the board by appointment in 2016 and was then elected to a three-year term.

DePinho joined the board in 2009.

- Advertisment -

Stay Connected


Current Issue