Fasano wins first term on Township Committee in Freehold Township


FREEHOLD TOWNSHIP – Republican Maureen Fasano won a three-year term on the Township Committee in the Nov. 5 election.

According to results posted online by the Monmouth County Clerk’s Office, Fasano, who was seeking her first term on the governing body, received 4,827 votes on Election Day to defeat Democrat Scott Berlin, another first-time candidate. Berlin received 2,931 votes on Election Day. The results are unofficial until they are certified by the county.

Fasano will join Freehold Township’s governing body in January. Committeewoman Barbara McMorrow, who is serving as mayor in 2019, did not seek re-election and her term will conclude in December.

Fasano will join David Salkin, Anthony Ammiano, Thomas Cook and Lester A. Preston Jr. on the governing body.

Fasano is currently a Freehold Township parks and recreation commissioner, a position she has held for 10 years. She was a member of the Freehold Soccer League for more than 25 years as a coach, and as a board member for more than five years. Fasano served on the Freehold Township K-8 School District’s redistricting and budget committees for more than 10 years.

“I would like to thank the voters in Freehold Township for giving me this opportunity,” she said. “I am honored to have been elected. As a lifelong resident, I look forward to serving the people of Freehold Township. We live in an amazing community. I will do everything I can to keep it this way.”