Two incumbents, newcomer will fill three seats on Monroe Board of Education

News logo

MONROE – Two incumbents and a newcomer will fill the three, three-year seats on the Monroe Board of Education.

Ken Chiarella, who will serve his fourth term, received the most votes with 4,452/19% in the election on Nov. 5. Michele Arminio, who will serve her third term, received 4,203 votes/18% and Adi Nikitinsky, who will serve his first term, recorded 3,898 votes/17%.

Incumbent Patty Lang, who was seeking her second term, collected 3,759 votes/16%; Gail DiPane, who was seeking her first term, received 2,821 votes/12%; Louis Masters, who was seeking his first term, gained 2,300 votes/10%; and Corey Gabriel Corbo, who was seeking his first term, picked up 1,624 votes/7%.

Arminio, 63, who has lived in Monroe for 39 years, said education has always been her priority.

During the campaign, Arminio said along with STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) instruction and arts and music, she would like to advocate for civics classes.

Arminio said the big challenge in the district is classrooms, and said the district needs the support of the entire community. She also said she supports state legislative bills that could increase aid for special education students.

Chiarella, 52, who is a lifelong resident of Monroe, said he ran for another term to continue advocating for the children, teachers and taxpayers and continue to try to restore the trust of the people on the board.

Nikitinsky, who has lived in Monroe for 28 years, said he ran for a seat on the board because “residents and the kids deserve better and need to be heard.”

He said the biggest challenge facing the district is overcrowding in the schools. Before looking into building new schools, he said officials and the board must look into the existing school properties they currently have, he said.

Nikitinsky said he will bring proven leadership, efficiency, transparency and fiscal responsibility to the board.

Election results are according to the Middlesex County Board of Elections and are unofficial until certified.