Voters elect members of municipal government in five towns

Voters in Red Bank, Tinton Falls, Rumson, Shrewsbury Borough and Shrewsbury Township went to the polls on Nov. 5 and elected members of the governing body in their respective municipalities.

The Monmouth County Clerk’s Office has posted results from the election on its website. The results are unofficial until they are certified by the county.

The vote totals as of Nov. 11 do not include provisional ballots that were cast at polling places on Nov. 5. The provisional ballots were expected to be counted on Nov. 12.

Red Bank 

In the race for two three-year terms on the Red Bank Borough Council, incumbent Democrats Kathleen Horgan and Erik Yngstrom defeated Republicans Allison Gregory and Jonathan Penney. As of Nov. 11, Yngstrom (1,296 votes) and Horgan (1,282 votes) lead Gregory (906 votes) and Penney (823 votes).

Tinton Falls 

In the nonpartisan race for three three-year terms on the Tinton Falls Borough Council, Kenneth Asmar, Tracey A. Buckley and Risa S. Clay have defeated Lawrence A. Dobrin, Donald Michaels, Michael J. Nesci and Ronald Wollner.

Buckley (2,238 votes) Clay (2,199 votes) and Nesci (2,223 votes) ran as the Independent Advocates for Tinton Falls. Asmar (1,315 votes) Michaels (1,495 votes) and Wollner (1,441 votes) ran as Your Voice in Tinton Falls. Dobrin (481 votes) ran a solo campaign for a council seat.


Running unopposed for a four-year term as mayor in Rumson, incumbent Republican Joseph K. Hemphill (1,267 votes) was re-elected.

Running unopposed for two three-year terms, incumbent Republicans Laura R. Atwell (1,255 votes) and James C. Kingsberry (1,188 votes) were re-elected.

Shrewsbury Borough

In the race for two three-year terms on the Shrewsbury Borough Council, incumbent Republicans Deidre DerAsadourian and Jason Sena have defeated Democrats Judith Kramer and David Landy. As of Nov. 11, DerAsadourian (615 votes) and Sena (599 votes) led Kramer (507 votes) and Landy (499 votes).

In the race for one one-year unexpired term on the council, incumbent Republican Brendan Gilmartin has defeated Democrat Norma Rosenbloom. As of Nov. 11, Gilmartin (647 votes) led Rosenbloom (458 votes).

Shrewsbury Township

In the race for one three-year term on the Township Committee in Shrewsbury Township, incumbent Democrat Glenwood Puhak has defeated Republican Maryellen McNama-Bailly. As of Nov. 10, Puhak (142 votes) led McNama-Bailly (70 votes).