Write-in candidates appear to have won seats on Millstone school board

Three residents of Millstone Township appear to have received enough write-in votes to claim three-year terms on the Millstone Township K-8 School District Board of Education.

No candidates filed nominating petitions to appear on the ballot to run for the three three-year terms that were up for grabs in the Nov. 5 election, leaving open the possibility write-in candidates could win the race.

According to results posted by the Monmouth County Clerk’s Office, Shannon Pulaski received 183 write-in votes, Amrita Singh received 128 write-in votes, Mary Waskovich received 124 write-in votes and Mark McLafferty received 94 write-in votes.

The results are unofficial until they are certified by the county. As of Nov. 11 it was not known if Pulaski, Singh and/or Waskovich would join the board.

In the Upper Freehold Regional School District, incumbent board member Wil Borkowski ran unopposed for a three-year term representing Allentown. Borkowski received 490 votes and won election to the board.

Christine Ciccarone and Vanessa DePompo ran unopposed for two three-year terms representing Upper Freehold Township. DePompo received 890 votes and Ciccarone received 874 votes and won election to the board.