Arnone and Kiley will lead Monmouth freeholders in 2020


Monmouth County Freeholder Thomas A. Arnone and Freeholder Susan M. Kiley were appointed as director and deputy director, respectively, at the Monmouth County Board of Freeholders’ 2020 reorganization meeting on Jan. 7 at Biotechnology High School, Freehold Township.

“I cannot thank my fellow freeholders enough for their belief in me to serve once again as freeholder director and I am eager to tackle the year ahead,” Arnone said. “As everybody knows, my top priority has always been making sure Monmouth County is the most financially responsible, best run county. We cannot rest on what we have done in the past, so I will continue my vigorous efforts as we enter the New Year.”

“I would like to thank the board for selecting me as deputy director for 2020 and I am ready to continue working for the constituency, as well as collaborate with the board, the county’s constitutional officers and other elected officials,” Kiley said. “As deputy director, I will work tirelessly to maintain past initiatives and services for our county residents while looking ahead to new and exciting visions for 2020.”

Prior to the selection of the county governing body’s leadership, Monmouth County Sheriff Shaun Golden, Freeholder Dominick DiRocco and Arnone were sworn into office, according to a press release from the county.

Golden, a Republican, was sworn into his fourth three-year term as sheriff, Arnone was sworn into his fourth three-year term as a freeholder and DiRocco was sworn into his first three-year term as a freeholder.

Arnone, DiRocco and Kiley are joined on the freeholder board by Lillian Burry and Patrick Impreveduto. Republicans maintain a 5-0 majority on the county’s governing body.

Each freeholder thanked county administration and employees for their hard work throughout 2019. They also expressed their thanks to Arnone, Impreveduto, who served as deputy director during the past year, and former freeholder and newly elected state Assemblyman Gerry Scharfenberger for their dedication and responsibility to Monmouth County, according to the press release.

The freeholders made a number of citizen member appointments to various county boards and commissions that included:

• Advisory Council Office on Aging (three-year term) – Judy Aaufner, Kathy Rogers, Sharon Stark and Colleen Verist;

• Agriculture Development Board – Regular member (three-year term) – Jeffery Foster and David Holmes; Alternate members (one-year term) – Ross Clayton and Michael Matthews;

• Board of Addiction Services (three-year term) – Diane Aifer, Alysa Fornarotto-Regenye, Marcy McMullen and Selma Morris;

• Construction Board of Appeals – Regular member (four-year term) – Richard Hogan; Alternate member (four-year term) – Edward Reed;

• Historical Commission (three-year term) – Randall Gabrielan, Gerald Scharfenberger, Muriel Smith, Ellen Terry and Peter Van Nortwick;

• Planning Board – Regular member (three-year term) – Jennifer Di Lorenzo and James Giannell; Alternate member (one-year term) – John Mele and James C. Schatzle;

• Recreation Commissioners (five-year term) – Patricia Butch; Filling unexpired term (expiring March 15, 2021) – Glen Mendez;

• Transportation Council (three-year term) – Elizabeth Barrett, Anthony Garaguso, Eric Nelson, Peter Van Nortwick and Jeffery Vernick;

• Youth Services Commission (three-year term) – John Amato, Laurie Gerhardt, Monmouth County Sheriff Shaun Golden, Monmouth County Prosecutor Christopher Gramiccioni, Timothy McCorkell and Jeffery Schwartz.