Manalapan-Englishtown school board reorganizes for 2020

Four residents have been sworn in to begin serving terms on the Manalapan-Englishtown Regional School District Board of Education.

The board held its 2020 reorganization meeting on Jan. 7 at the Pine Brook School, Manalapan.

The three winners in the Nov. 5 school board election – incumbents Gerald Bruno and Christine Parisi, and David Kane, a former member of the Manalapan Township Committee who won his first term on the school board – were sworn in to begin serving three-year terms.

And, Ryan Urgo was appointed to fill a vacant seat on the board and was sworn in to begin serving a one-year term.

In addition to Urgo, the Manalapan residents who sought the one-year appointment and were interviewed by the board were Kristen Farhat, Michael Levenson, Kathleen Williams and Gregory Scrofani, according to Business Administrator-Board Secretary Veronica Wolf.

The school board has nine members – eight residents of Manalapan (Bruno, Parisi, Kane, Urgo, Dotty Porcaro, Brian Graime, Janet Lewis and Joanne Schechter) and one resident of Englishtown (Lori Semel).

During the meeting, Porcaro was elected to serve as board president for 2020 and Semel was elected to serve as vice president for 2020. Porcaro and Semel held the same positions in 2019.

A budget for the 2020-21 school year is being developed by the district’s administration. A budget workshop that is open to the public will be held at 7:30 p.m. on March 3 at the Wemrock Brook School, Manalapan.

Board members may adopt a tentative budget for the upcoming school year during their public meeting at 7:30 p.m. on March 17 at the district’s administration building in Englishtown.

A public hearing on the budget and its final adoption by the board is scheduled for a 7:30 p.m. on May 5 meeting at the administration building.