Home News Transcript News Transcript News

Hornik, Marder, Scalea begin serving new terms in Marlboro

MARLBORO – Jonathan Hornik began serving his fourth four-year term as Marlboro’s mayor when the municipal government held its reorganization meeting on Jan. 6 at Town Hall.

Randi Marder and Michael Scalea were sworn in to begin serving new four-year terms on the Township Council the same day.

Marder and Scalea are joined on the council by Carol Mazzola, Jeff Cantor and Scott Metzger. Democrats have a 5-0 majority on the council and hold the mayor’s office.

During the meeting, Mazzola was elected by her colleagues to serve as council president during 2020. Cantor was elected by his colleagues to serve as vice president for the year.

In comments to members of the governing body and the public, Hornik spoke about what officials will attempt to accomplish during the next four years.

“We are going to continue to be guided by the long-term goals and principles we established 12 years ago,” he said, referring to the start of his administration. “We are going to keep partisan politics out of Marlboro’s local effort. We are going to bring final resolution to Marlboro’s affordable housing issue this year.

“We will build and operate a state-of-the-art indoor recreational facility for the entire community to enjoy. We will continue to invest in, reinvest and revisit security measures in our schools and places of worship to keep our residents safe.

“We will continue to invest in our infrastructure, including roads, buildings, sidewalk connectivity, parks and open space. We will continue to improve our balance sheet and question every tax dollar spent. We will continue to attract businesses that Marlboro residents want to visit and enjoy,” the mayor said.

During the meeting, Mazzola was appointed to the Planning Board as a representative of the council.

Matthew Weilheimer was reappointed as a member of the Zoning Board of Adjustment for a four-year term, Frank Yozzo was reappointed as an alternate member for a two-year term and Ira Levin was appointed as an alternate for a one-year unexpired term.

Heidi Rajan and Harry Cross were appointed to the Agriculture Advisory Committee for two-year terms and Rajan was named chairwoman of the committee for 2020. Jeffrey Rosen was reappointed as one of Marlboro’s two representatives on the Western Monmouth Utilities Authority for a five-year term.

Council members reappointed Connie Mo as a member of the Youth Exchange Advisory Committee for three years and designated her as chairwoman of the committee for 2020.

Municipal officials reappointed Raymond Raya as public defender; Louis Rainone as township attorney; CME Associates as township engineer and township planner; the law firm of DeCotiis, FitzPatrick, Cole and Giblin to serve as co-counsel on matters involving affordable housing lawsuits; and the law firm of Goldzweig, Green, Eiger and Biedzynski to serve as special counsel for affordable housing.

Exit mobile version