Holmdel, Rumson residents serve on Monmouth University board


Share post:

At its June 18 meeting, the Monmouth University Board of Trustees elected its new slate of officers and four members with terms beginning July 1.

The private university is in West Long Branch.

- Advertisement -

Holmdel resident Jeana M. Piscatelli ’01 ’02M was elected chair of the board, the first woman in the university’s 87-year history to hold the position, according to a press release from the university.

Rumson resident Miles J. Austin III ’18 will join the board as a new member.

Piscatelli is senior vice president, director of treasury management at OceanFirst Bank. She has been a member of the university’s board since 2010.

At OceanFirst, she is responsible for implementation of overall strategy and management of corporate treasury. Before that, Piscatelli held various roles with J.P. Morgan and Wells Fargo in New York. An alumna of the university’s business school, Piscatelli previously served as vice chair and will succeed Michael A. Plodwick ’82 as chair, according to the press release.​

“It is an honor to be named chair of the board at my alma mater,” Piscatelli said. “Monmouth is home to me and I am excited to work alongside President (Patrick) Leahy and fellow board members to build upon our strong foundation as one of the region’s premier private universities.”

Austin is a former offensive quality control coach for the San Francisco 49ers and a former wide receiver who played professional football for 10 seasons, spending the majority of his career with the Dallas Cowboys.

He is the founder of the Austin Family Foundation, a nonprofit organization whose mission is to support and promote youth programming focused on character development and community involvement in lower income areas, according to the press release.

He holds a degree in political science from Monmouth, where he was a standout wide receiver for the football team from 2002-05. Austin’s jersey was retired in 2014 and he was inducted into the Monmouth University Athletics Hall of Fame in 2016.

John A. Brockriede Jr. ’07 ’10M and Leslie N. Hitchner will serve as vice chairs, Christopher D. Maher as treasurer, and John C. Conover III as secretary of the Board of Trustees.

Tasha A. Youngblood Brown ’97 ’03M, Jeremy Grunin, and James S. Vaccaro III will also join the board as its newest members, according to the press release.

The Monmouth University Board of Trustees is composed of 32 regular members who are elected to four-year terms and are divided into four class years. The board operates within the conventional framework of higher education academic governance for independent institutions. Board members are concerned with higher education issues and share a specific and genuine involvement with Monmouth University, according to the press release.

Stay Connected


Current Issue

Latest News

Related articles

New Jersey needs law to control invasive species

By Tom Gilbert What happens in Vegas may stay in Vegas, but what happens in New Jersey yards and...

Monmouth County News Briefs, Jan. 25

The Assembly Judiciary Committee on Jan. 19 cleared a bill sponsored by Assemblywoman Vicky Flynn (R-Monmouth) that would,...

Eatontown council to consider request for cannabis cultivation business

EATONTOWN — Borough Council members may take formal action at their meeting tonight, Jan. 25, regarding a proposal...

What’s happening in nature during winter’s chill?

By Alison Mitchell New Jersey was quite frigid in December, but temperatures warmed as the new year arrived. So...