Nine candidates will vie for three seats on Lawrence Township school board

A nine-way race has shaped up for three seats on the Lawrence Township Public Schools Board of Education, following the July 27 deadline to file to run for the school board in the Nov. 3 general election.

The term is for three years.

Incumbent school board members Michele Bowes, Dana Drake and Cathy LeCompte are running on the “Putting Students First” slate.

Bowes serves on the school board’s Personnel, Curriculum and Instruction, Assessment and Development, and Community Relations and Legislative Affairs committees.

Drake serves on the Finance and Facilities, Personnel and Negotiations committees. She also serves on the Special Education ad hoc committee.

LeCompte sits on the school board’s Finance, Community Relations and Legislative Affairs committees. She is the school board’s liaison to the Lawrence Township Growth and Redevelopment Committee.

The incumbents are being challenged by Heather Camp, Tabitha Bellamy McKinley and Jasmine Surti on the “Positive, Purposeful, Productive” slate.

Rounding out the field of school board candidates are Patricia Hendricks Farmer, who is running on the “Responsible Education United” slate; Gregory G. Johnson, who is running on the “Kids Always First” slate; and Olufunmilola Ladigbolu, who is running on the “Advancement Inclusion Commitment” slate.