Home Hillsborough Beacon Hillsborough Sports

PGA of America New Jersey Section announces annual award recipients

The New Jersey Section of the PGA of America (NJPGA) announced its 2020 annual award recipients, led by Joe Kelly, PGA general manager and head professional at Mendham Golf & Tennis Club, who was named 2020 NJPGA Golf Professional of the Year, the highest honor for a PGA Professional within the section.

Awarded for qualities of leadership, strong moral character and a substantial record of service to the NJPGA, and the game of golf, Kelly is the current president of the NJPGA who has shown relentless commitment and dedication during these challenging times to his membership at Mendham Golf & Tennis Club as well as the New Jersey PGA, its PGA golf professionals and staff, according to information provided by the PGA New Jersey Section on Sept. 10.

Kelly is joined by an esteemed list of PGA professionals who were honored in several categories as 2020 NJPGA Special Award winners. The New Jersey PGA plans to recognize the award recipients on Oct. 22 at the Celebration of Golf at Canoe Brook Country Club and at the NJPGA Fall Meeting on Oct. 26 at Fiddler’s Elbow Country Club. The dates and/or format of both events are subject to change based on a number of factors.

2020 NJPGA Award Winners:

  • Golf Professional of the Year: Joe Kelly – Mendham Golf & Tennis Club, Mendham
  • Assistant Golf Professional of the Year: Justin Rohrig – Forsgate Country Club, Monroe Twp, NJ
  • Teacher of the Year: Nick Bova – Hamilton Farm Golf Club, Gladstone
  • Club of the Year: Trump National Golf Club-Bedminster, Bedminster
  • Bill Strausbaugh Award: Keith Stewart – Springdale Golf Club, Princeton
  • Professional Development Award: Jason Fiore – Forest Hill Field Club , Bloomfield
  • Merchandiser of the Year (Private): Matt McKeon – Spring Lake Golf Club, Spring Lake
  • Merchandiser of the Year (Public): Vaughan Abel – Royce Brook Golf Club, Hillsborough
  • Player Development Award: Brian Dobbie – Trump National Golf Club-Bedminster, Bedminster
  • Youth Player Development Award: Jeremy Eccles – Fiddler’s Elbow Country Club, Bedminster
  • Patriot Award: Ed Walls – Renaissance Country Club, Manchester
  • Deacon Palmer Award: Bryan DeMarco – Pine Barrens Golf Club, Jackson Township
  • Salesperson of the Year: Dave Lewis – Titleist
Exit mobile version