Home The Atlantic-Hub Atlantic-Hub Sports

Krause wins 2020 title; McCarthy wins Wall Stadium Modified race

WALL TOWNSHIP – Eddie McCarthy of Brick Township won his career first Modified stock car 40-lap feature race and Holmdel’s Andrew Krause won his first Modified driving championship during Wall Stadium Speedway’s regular season finale on Oct. 10.

Kenny Van Wickle of Brick Township was the first leader of the event as McCarthy soon applied the pressure from second.

After often wrestling side-by-side for the top spot, McCarthy powered to the lead just before halfway and just before the race was stopped by a massive front stretch pile-up on lap 18. Brick Township’s Dom Fattaruso seemed to get the worst of the exchange, but no injuries were reported, according to a press release.

From that point on McCarthy powered on to the win with Wall Township’s Jack Ely second, title contender Steven Reed of Jackson third, and Krause crossing the line in fourth. Farmingdale’s Tommy Martino was fifth.

“We have been trying to get a Modified win for a long time. Two weeks ago we blew a motor and last week we fought this one that Buddy Miller lent us,” McCarthy said. “We got it figured out and it was a rocket tonight.”

“Ever since my father came to this place, my family fell in love with it,” said Krause, whose sister and mother operate the 70-year-old one-third mile paved oval. “We have been trying hard for a long time to put a championship season together. Thanks to a lot of very good people we have done it.”

Tom Rajkowski of Woodbridge fought to the finish to win the 25-lap main event for the Factory Stocks while Elliot Wohl of Beachwood was a hard charging runner-up which was more than good enough for him to earn his second straight driving title.

Title contenders Bryan O’Shea of Neptune City, Mike Montano of Freeport, N.Y., and Billy Both of Rahway were third through fifth.

Ricky Williams of Barnegat drove a borrowed car to victory in the 25-lap 4-Cylinder Stock main event over Alonzo Morales of Burlington and Billy Pross of Hazlet.

Neptune City’s Ryan Maher raced from the rear of the field to fourth in the final four laps to win the 4-Cylinder Stock driving crown. Wall Township’s T.J. Graves was fifth in the night’s race.

Peter Bruno of Little Silver recovered from first lap trouble to finish second and clinch the 2020 Legend Cars driving title.

Eugene Drew of Vernon won his first feature race, while Long Island’s Ed Cheslak, Eric Green of Red Bank and title contender Bryan Gardella of Brick Township were third through fifth.

Brothers Jarret DiGiantomasso and Carsten DiGiantomasso battled to the finish for both the title and race win in the Sportsman 25-lap feature race before the brothers finished in that order for both the race and the points title.

It was Jarret’s third win of the year and first crown.

Neil Rutt III of Edison, Neptune City’s Jeffrey Loesch and Howell’s Rob Anderton wrapped up the top five.

After leading the points race going into the race, Manahawkin’s Jake Nelke suffered heartbreak as his car retired from the race early with reported electrical issues, according to the press release.

Hazlet’s Chris Silvestri convincingly won his second straight title by winning the 25-lap Limited Late Model main event over Long Island’s Ray Minieri. Bayville’s Mike Tillett, Buddy Miller of Cream Ridge and Jackson’s Greg Gastelu completed the top five.

With the 2020 regular season complete, attention turns to the annual Turkey Derby which is traditionally contested during the daylight hours on Friday, Saturday and Sunday of Thanksgiving weekend, according to the press release.

Exit mobile version