Election Update: Newcomers still ahead of incumbents in South Brunswick school board race

Voting on Election Day, voting ballot

There were elections for seats on the municipal governing body and Board of Education in both North Brunswick and South Brunswick on Nov. 3.

The results listed here reflect what has been posted online by the Middlesex County Clerk’s Office as of 7:07 p.m. Nov. 6. Mail-in ballots can be received through Nov. 10, and provisional ballots will be tabulated post-Nov. 11, according to the county.

The results are not final and it is not known when the results will be final.

The results of the election will remain unofficial until they are certified.

• North Brunswick Township Council – Two terms are available on the Township Council. Incumbent Democrats Robert Davis and Claribel Cortes are running for three-year terms, uncontested. Davis received 8,513 votes, and Cortes received 8,528 votes. There were 149 write-in votes.

• North Brunswick Board of Education – The race for three, three-year seats is uncontested. Elesia L. James, longtime board member Richard Liguori and incumbent Hayley Toth were on the ballot. James received 6,840 votes. Toth received 5,235 votes. Liguori received 5,209 votes. There were 100 write-in votes.

• South Brunswick Township CouncilIncumbent Democrats Joseph Camarota, Archana (Ann) Grover and Jo Hochman are running against Republicans Mike Kushwarra, Brian William Wojaczyk and Antonia Kulberda for three, three-year terms. Camarota received 12,669 votes. Grover received 12,203 votes. Hochman received 12,133 votes. Wojaczyk received 5,142 votes. Kushwarra received 5,036 votes. Kulberda received 4,645 votes. There were 19 write-in votes.

• South Brunswick Board of Education – Raja Krishna, Mike Mitchell and Smitha Raj are competing against incumbents Arthur Robinson, Deven Patel and Patrick Del Piano – who are running together on the same slate – for three, three-year seats. Krishna received 7,402 votes. Mitchell received 7,323 votes. Raj received 5,966 votes. Patel received 5,661 votes. Robinson received 5,643 votes. Del Piano received 5,391 votes. There were 71 write-in votes.

Updates from Middlesex County are available at www.middlesexcountynj.gov/Government/Pages/Election-Results-2020.aspx

Exit mobile version