Preston, Walker win three-year terms on Freehold Township governing body


FREEHOLD TOWNSHIP – Incumbent Republicans Lester A. Preston Jr. and Alan C. Walker have won three three-year terms on the Township Committee in Freehold Township.

According to results posted online by the Monmouth County Clerk’s Office, as of Nov. 18, Walker had received 14,521 votes, Preston had received 13,980 votes, and Democrat Hassan Shehadeh had received 7,768 votes.

The results of the Nov. 3 election will remain unofficial until they have been certified by the county.

Republicans hold all five seats on the Township Committee. Preston and Walker are joined on the governing body by Anthony Ammiano, Thomas Cook and Maureen Fasano.

Preston, who is serving as mayor in 2020, has been a member of the Township Committee since 2015.

A lifelong resident of Freehold Township, Preston is a certified public accountant and served as treasurer and chief financial officer of D.L. Ryan Companies Ltd. (Ryan Partnership), an integrated marketing services agency providing services to Fortune 500 companies.

“Alan and I are grateful to our residents for their support and confidence in electing us to the Township Committee,” Preston said. “They have entrusted us with a great responsibility that we do not take lightly and we look forward to the opportunity to serve them.

“We can assure each and every resident that we will always put the best interests of our town first,” he said. “They deserve our very best and we pledge that we will work hard to ensure they are not disappointed.”

Walker was appointed to the Township Committee earlier this year to fill an open seat and was seeking his first full term. He served on the Parks and Recreation Commission from 2011-19 and was chairman in 2018-19.

He works in the office equipment industry as a territory sales representative, with a specialization in the educational and government markets.

“I am very grateful for the extended team of supporters who worked so hard to help Lester Preston and myself get re-elected for another three years,” Walker said. “With an unprecedented number of votes cast this year, it is even more gratifying that 14,000 residents have put their faith in us to help make the right decisions for our town. I have called Freehold Township home for 50 years and it is an honor and privilege to serve our community.

“2021 will present unique and difficult challenges for the Township Committee as we address certain state-mandated directives and potential zoning changes.

“I am very fortunate to work with dedicated officials like Mayor Lester Preston, Deputy Mayor Tom Cook and committee members Anthony Ammiano and Maureen Fasano, who have nothing but the best interests of Freehold Township in mind.

“Together, we are committed to ensuring that Freehold Township remains a great place to live, work and visit. I sincerely appreciate the opportunity to demonstrate my promise to all the residents who put their trust in me,” Walker said.

Shehadeh, who has been a resident of Freehold Township for more than 14 years, was making his first bid for Township Committee.

“I would like to thank the voters who voted for me and those who voted for Mr. Preston and Mr. Walker for exercising their right to elect the Township Committee members, and to congratulate the winners,” Shehadeh said. “The ultimate goal is to serve Freehold Township and make it one of the best towns in New Jersey. I wish them luck and success in this task.”