Incumbent Democrats re-elected to Sayreville council


SAYREVILLE – Incumbent Democrats Vincent Conti and Mary Novak are headed for new three-year terms on the Borough Council in Sayreville.

According to results certified by the Middlesex County Clerk’s Office on Nov. 20, Novak received 10,874 votes and Conti received 10,261 votes, as of Nov. 16. Republicans Danielle Zaleski and Karen Bailey Bebert received 9,515 and 9,085 votes, respectively.

There were 55 write-in votes.

Democrats hold five of six seats on the Borough Council and the mayor’s office. Republicans hold one seat on the Borough Council.

Conti, a resident of Sayreville for 15 years, was appointed to the council this year to fill a vacant seat. He is also a commissioner on the Sayreville Economic & Redevelopment Agency (SERA). For about 25 years in his professional career, he has worked in a leadership role at UnitedHealthcare and Anthem, two of the largest healthcare organizations in the country.

In a full-three year term, Conti said the issues he intends to address are helping the borough build up its revenue and continuing to work with the team behind Riverton, an ongoing $2.5 billion mixed use development alongside the Raritan River.

Novak, who is serving as council president in 2020, has been a resident of Sayreville for 45 years. A member of the governing body for 15 years, she is the council’s longest-serving member, having first been on the governing body from 1995 to 2000 and rejoining in 2012. She also serves on SERA, the Open Space Committee and the Office on Aging.

In a presumed new term, Novak said the issues she intends to address are having less housing development, more clean industries and further technology improvements in Sayreville.