Leadership of Sayreville school board remains for 2021


Share post:

SAYREVILLE – Members of the Sayreville Board of Education have voted to keep the individuals who served as president and vice president of the board during 2020 in place for 2021.

The board held its annual reorganization meeting on Jan. 5, and the winning candidates from the Nov. 3 election – newcomers Alison Napolitano, Eloy Fernandez, Eileen Pabon and Patrick Walsh – were sworn in to begin serving their first terms.

- Advertisement -

Napolitano, Fernandez and Pabon were elected to full three-year terms on the board. Walsh was elected to a one-year, unexpired term.

After all members were seated, the board held elections for the positions of president and vice president.

Anthony Esposito, who served as president in 2020, was nominated to serve as president for a second consecutive year and was elected in an unanimous vote. He joined the board in 2016 and previously served as vice president for three consecutive years from 2018 to 2020 until he was named president due to the resignation of the board’s previous president.

John Walsh, who served as vice president in 2020, was nominated to serve as vice president for a second consecutive year and was also elected unanimously by his fellow board members. He joined the board in 2013 and began serving as vice president after Esposito became president in 2020.

Following the elections, board members approved the following appointments on the recommendation of Superintendent Richard Labbe for 2021:
  • Business Administrator Erin Hill was appointed board secretary, the public agency compliance officer for contracts, the qualified purchasing agent and the custodian of records;
  • Director of Human Resources and Professional Development Edward Aguiles was appointed the affirmative action officer;
  • Director of Pupil-Special Services David Knaster was appointed the McKinney Vento and Educational Stability liaison;
  • Director of Facilities James Kolmansperger was appointed the integrated pest management coordinator;
  • Nicole Petrone was appointed the treasurer of school monies;
  • The law firm Busch Law Group was appointed legal counsel to the Board of Education in an amount not to exceed $150,000;
  • The firm Spiezle Architectural Group, Inc. was appointed architects;
  • The firm CME Associates was appointed engineers;
  • The firm Arthur J. Gallagher & Company was appointed health insurance broker;
  • The firm Willis Towers Watson was appointed property and casualty insurance consultant;
  • Dr. Matthew Speesler was appointed board physician;
  • The firm Suplee, Clooney & Company was appointed board auditors.

Stay Connected


Current Issue

Latest News

Related articles

Windows of Understanding addresses social justice issues through art

For husband and wife, Dan and Peichi Waite, the word dignity played a big role when putting together...

A musician’s journey from professional drummer to film composer

With the upcoming release of Bezos:The Beginning, Professional composer, Colin Bell, shared his creative process on scoring his...

Giordano, Sulikowski to lead Old Bridge Board of Education

The Old Bridge Board of Education has reorganized with new leadership. Salvatore Giordano was nominated and selected - 5-4...

Investments in infrastructure, education and quality of life continue in Middlesex County

The Middlesex County Board of County Commissioners are moving full steam ahead into the new year as investments...