Mann elected as Borough Council president in Englishtown for 2021


ENGLISHTOWN – Eric Mann has been elected by his fellow members of the governing body to serve as president of the Borough Council in Englishtown for 2021.

The borough’s annual reorganization meeting was held on Jan. 4. Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, a limit was placed on the number of residents who were permitted to attend the meeting and each attendee was required to wear a face mask.

Incumbent Republican council members Cecilia Robilotti, Daniel Francisco and Mann, who were the winning candidates in the November election, were sworn in to begin serving new terms as the first order of business at the meeting.

Mann, who joined the governing body in 2017, and Robilotti, who joined the governing body in 2006, were elected to three-year terms. Francisco, who joined the council in 2019 to fill an open seat, was elected to a one-year unexpired term.

After all the members were seated, Mann was elected to serve as council president.

Republicans hold all six council seats and the mayor’s office in Englishtown. Mann, Robilotti and Francisco are joined by Maryanne Krawiec, Dan Marter and Gregory Wojyn on the Borough Council, with Thomas Reynolds serving as mayor.

In separate resolutions, the council members appointed Thomas Herits of Maser Consulting as borough engineer; Joseph Youssouf as borough attorney; John Cantalupo of Archer & Greiner as bond counsel; Robert W. Allison of Holman Frenia Allison as borough auditor; Richard Kelly as municipal court prosecutor; and Michael Dupont of McKenna, Dupont, Higgins & Stone as municipal court public defender.

The council also passed a resolution that appointed Peter Gorbatuk as municipal clerk and registrar; Sylvia Hawileh as chief financial officer; James Newman as municipal magistrate; Lisa Langlois as municipal court administrator; Violetta Grzanko as water-sewer clerk; Mark Fitzpatrick as tax assessor; Celia Hecht as Planning Board secretary; Jeanne Keevins as municipal housing liaison and finance clerk; James Mastrokalos as water/sewer superintendent; Dr. Kenneth Faistl as borough physician; John Marini as housing inspector and zoning officer; Richard Thompson as code enforcement officer; Police Chief Peter Cooke as Emergency Management Coordinator; and Dylan McLearen and Tatiana Damingo as Class II Special Law Enforcement Officers.

Reynolds appointed Mastrokalos, Robilotti and himself to one-year terms on the Planning Board, expiring Dec. 31, 2021, and Deena Martin to a four-year term on the Planning Board, expiring Dec. 31, 2024.