Home The Atlantic-Hub Atlantic-Hub Sports

Krause fights off foes for Wall Stadium Modified opener victory

WALL TOWNSHIP – Defending Wall Stadium Speedway Modified driving champion Andrew Krause fought off many challengers before wiing the scheduled opening night 40-lap feature race win on April 24. It was the Holmdel resident’s 13th Modified victory.

Wall Township racer Jack Ely jumped to the lead on the initial restart before the first of many cautions slowed the test, according to a press release.

Krause was the winner of the front stretch drag race on the restart and then fought off Ely’s advances through the first 10 circuits. When Ely dropped from the race with mechanical failure, Brick Township’s Eddie McCarthy took up the chase and slipped into the lead just past the halfway point.

When McCarthy’s mount failed to launch on a lap 23 restart, Krause rocketed back into the top spot as a front stretch jam up slowed the action.

Krause was then forced to hold off Tommy Martino Jr. of Farmingdale before Steven Reed of Jackson advanced to second on lap 27. Reed then shadowed Krause until lap 35 when a rain shower hit the area and forced track officials to call the event official.

Reed, McCarthy, Chris Andretta of Neptune and Marc Rogers of Jackson wrapped up the top five.

“That was a tough race,” Krause said in the wet winner’s circle. “Although I got out front early, all of those cautions kept me busy from start to finish. There are a lot of fast cars here.”

Jake Nelke of Manahawkin was forced to fight off several restart challenges to win the Sportsman stock car opening night 25-lapper.

After Carsten DiGiantomasso was Nelke’s early rival, three-time division champ Kevin Davison of Howell provided the pressure the rest of the way.

DiGiantomasso, Neil Rutt III of Edison and Rob Anderton of Howell were third through fifth. The race featured a major front stretch crash, but no injuries were reported, according to the press release.

Bryan O’Shea of Neptune City jumped to the lead early and raced on to the Factory Stock 25-lap feature win.

Two-time and defending champ Elliot Wohl of Beachwood took advantage of a long green flag period to chip his way to the front and finish second. Early challenger Nick Catone of Brick Township was third, while Joe Mongeau of Brick Township and Wall Township’s Brian DeSarno were fourth and fifth.

Luke LeBrun of West Newton, Mass., made his first Wall Stadium Speedway appearance memorable by winning the 25-lapper for the Legend Cars. Mason Magee of North East, Md., chased LeBrun to the finish, with Mike Alcaro of West Milford, Wall Township’s Rob Silver and Brick Township’s Joe McGrath wrapping up the top five.

The 25-lapper for the Fast 4 division was postponed by the rain shower and will be contested on May 22.

Auto racing action will continue on May 1 with the Modifieds, Sportsman cars, Factory Stocks, Fast 4 cars and Legend Cars in action. Grandstands will open at 4:30 p.m., qualifying starts at 5:30 p.m. and main event action starts at 7 p.m.

For more information, visit wallspeedwayracing.com or call 732-681-6400.

Exit mobile version