Home News Transcript News Transcript News News Transcript News Briefs, May 5

News Transcript News Briefs, May 5

Brookdale Community College student Elisa Masiero of Manalapan has been named a 2021 New Century Workforce Scholar and will receive a $1,250 scholarship sponsored by the Coca-Cola Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

New Century Workforce Scholars are selected based on their academic accomplishments, leadership, activities and how they extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom, according to a press release from the college.

More than 2,000 students were nominated from more than 1,200 college campuses across the United States. Only one New Century Workforce Scholar was selected from each state.

A native of Brazil, Masiero graduated with a bachelor’s degree in accounting before moving to the United States through a cultural exchange program.

“Upon completing the program, I had the great opportunity to continue my education at Brookdale Community College and excelled as a computer science student while breaking cultural and language barriers,” said Masiero, who recently accepted a job offer as a growth associate at a New York City company.

After graduating from Brookdale in December, Masiero plans to continue her education at Stevens Institute of Technology, where she hopes to earn her master’s degree in data science, according to the press release.

 

Manalapan resident Anthony Marinelli, an award winning film editor and a
writer and director for film and theater, has written a new novella, “Simple Things.”

“Simple Things” tells the story of a mild-mannered suburban florist whose simple life becomes very complicated when he meets a dark, mysterious woman from the city, according to a press release.

“Simple Things” is a pulp-noir-thriller in the tradition of Raymond Chandler, James M. Cain and Jim Thompson, featuring a beautiful femme fatale, an innocent man, and one very dangerous dude, who spend a nightmarish 24 hours together.

“Simple Things” is available on Amazon in Kindle and paperback.

Marinelli will direct an outdoor production of “Prelude to a Kiss,” written by Craig Lucas, this summer for Center Players of Freehold. His body of work may be viewed at www.anthonymarinelli.net

Exit mobile version