Home Indepenent Independent News

Hazlet Township Committee candidates set after June 8 primary

News logo

HAZLET – In a contested Republican primary election on June 8, incumbent Hazlet Township Committee members Tara Corcoran-Clark and James “Skip” McKay turned back a challenge from Scott Fierstein to win their political party’s nominations and earn places on the November general election ballot.

Two three-year terms on the Township Committee will be on the ballot in the fall.

According to results posted online by the Monmouth County Clerk’s Office, Corcoran-Clark, who is serving as Hazlet’s mayor in 2021, received 915 votes, and McKay received 901 votes to win the two nominations.

Fierstein received 288 votes in the GOP primary, according to the results posted online.

The Democratic primary in Hazlet was uncontested. According to the clerk’s office, Carrie Virgilio received 497 votes and David Personette received 472 votes to win the two nominations.

The results of the election are unofficial until they have been certified by the county.

Virgilio and Personette are expected to face Corcoran-Clark and McKay in the Nov. 2 general election for two available three-year terms on the governing body. The winners will serve terms that will run from January 2022 through December 2024.

All five members of the Township Committee are Republicans. Corcoran-Clark and McKay are joined on the dais by Scott Aagre, Michael Glackin and Mike Sachs.

Exit mobile version