Scisco speeds to first Wall Stadium Modified victory


WALL TOWNSHIP – Kyle Scisco of Jackson raced to his first career Modified stock car victory in the 40-lap “First Responders Night” main event at Wall Stadium Speedway on July 31.

The “Scisco Kid” was a Fast 4 stock car standout and the 2019 Sportsman driving champion before recently advancing to the headlining Modified division, according to a press release.

Scisco wasted no time in charging to the lead at the outset as Derek Hopkinson of Toms River and Brick Township’s Eddie McCarthy immediately began to attack.

With 10 laps in the books, McCarthy slipped into the second spot and went after the leader as Hopkinson ran a tight third and Jackson’s Steven Reed charged into fourth.

Just two caution flags for minor incidents slowed the action and that kept the pressure on Scisco all the way to the checkered flag.

McCarthy was a tight second, with Reed, Blake Barney of Jackson and Holmdel’s Andrew Krause wrapping up the top five.

Hopkinson’s great run was spoiled exiting the final turn when bumpers touched and his car ended up tagging the rail. Hopkinson was officially 19th.

“I want to dedicate this win to my grandfather,” an emotional Scisco said after the race. “I so much wish he could have seen this, but he is up there looking down on me tonight and he rode with me tonight. I hope he is proud.”

Bryan O’Shea of Neptune City marched to the front of the pack and then slipped into the lead and took the win of the Factory Stock 25-lapper on the final lap in a finish that had the fans on their feet.

Two-time champ Elliot Wohl of Beachwood was the runner-up, while early race leader Kevin Flores of Brick Township was third. Manahawkin’s Robert Stack and Howell’s Johnny Carpenter were fourth and fifth.

Jarret DiGiantomasso of Jackson won his second 25-lapper for the Sportsman cars over Mike Carr of Point Pleasant, taking the lead on lap 14.

Jackson’s Carsten DiGiantomasso, Jake Nelke of Manahawkin and Hazlet’s Chris Silvestri were third through fifth.

Mike Lavery of Orangeburg, N.Y., defeated the ever-challenging Alonzo Morales of Burlington to the finish line in the Fast 4 25-lapper, but when Lavery’s car failed a post-race inspection, Morales was awarded his third win and extended his point lead.

Hazlet’s Billy Pross, Rich Maher of Neptune City, Cody Critelli of Howell and Kayleigh Sharry of Manchester were second through fifth.

Brick Township’s Joe McGrath earned a loud round of applause by winning his first Legend Cars 25-lapper over Quinn Trimmer of Waldwick. Mason Magee of Northeast, Md., Colin Milroy of Southampton and Brick Township’s Brian Gardella completed the top five.

Buddy Sload won the 25-lap main event for the touring TQ Midgets.

The 2021 Saturday night regular season will continue on Aug. 7. Sportsman cars, Factory Stocks, Fast 4 cars and Demolition Derby entrants will all compete. Grandstands will open at 4 p.m., qualifying starts at 5 p.m. and main event action starts at 7 p.m. For more information, visit