HomeThe Atlantic-HubAtlantic-Hub SportsKrause wins sixth race of 2021, locks up Wall Stadium Modified crown

Krause wins sixth race of 2021, locks up Wall Stadium Modified crown

WALL TOWNSHIP – Andrew Krause of Holmdel raced from ninth on the grid to win his sixth Modified stock car main event of the 2021 auto racing season at Wall Stadium Speedway on the evening of Oct. 2.

Krause’s impressive performance in the 40-lap feature also nailed down his second straight Modified driving title at the one-third-mile paved oval.

Tyler Truex of Egg Harbor Township was the first leader of the test before Jackson’s Steven Reed and Brick Township’s Eddie McCarthy moved in to challenge as Krause continued his climb toward the front, according to a press release.

The battle for the top spot then continued well past the halfway point before Truex and Reed tangled on the front stretch. McCarthy and Krause then advanced into the top two spots on the restart before Truex and Reed again tussled on the front stretch with Truex tangling with the first turn guard rail as a result.

On the ensuing restart, Krause used the outside lane to rocket into the lead and raced on to the win and the 2021 championship. McCarthy was the runner-up, with Derek Hopkinson of Toms River, Reed and New Egypt’s Jason Hearne wrapping up he top five.

“These guys killed it again,” Krause said in the winner’s circle as he pointed toward his pit crew. “We took home our sixth win of the year to finish out the regular season and wrap up the championship. Thanks to everyone involved. This is what it’s all about.”

Billy Both of Rahway moved into contention early and raced on to his first Factory Stock 25-lap win. Both battled with title contender and former champ Elliot Wohl of Beachwood late in the race before Wohl spun from contention for both the win and the season-long title.

Bryan O’Shea of Neptune City, who also suffered a spin early in the test, recovered to finish sixth to secure the driving crown.

Scott Riggleman of Manchester, Farmingdale’s Doug Ashford, Nick Catone of Brick Township and Robert Stack of Manahawkin completed the top five.

Carsten DiGiantomasso of Jackson overcame early race trouble and a flat tire to finish sixth in the Sportsman main event and that was enough for him to secure that division’s driving crown.

Kevin Davison of Howell, the eventual champion’s closest rival, did all he could to steal away the title as he won his third race of the year, but fell two points short of the division crown.

Jake Nelke of Manahawkin, Chris Silvestri of Hazlet, Parlin’s Larry Thompson and Ryan Fisher of Howell were second through fifth.

Ian Ashford of Farmingdale grabbed his second win of the year in the 25-lap feature for the Fast 4 cars, taking the lead on lap four and then holding off challenger Billy Pross of Hazlet late in the event.

Mike Lavery of Orangeburg, N.Y., Alex Graetz of Wall Township and Nicole Razzano of Cookstown completed the top five, while Burlington’s Alonzo Morales earned the 2021 driving crown by finishing sixth.

Mike Alcaro of West Milford topped the 25-lap feature for the Legend Cars, taking the lead on lap five. Kevin Nowak of Medford, N.Y., Long Island’s Allan Pederson, Richie Davidowicz of Center Moriches, N.Y., and Tanner Jones wrapped up the top five.

Mason Magee of Northeast, Md., overcame early race trouble to recover for a sixth place finish that earned him the 2021 driving title in the division.

The 2021 Saturday night post-season action will begin on Oct. 9 with the annual running of the 127-lap Cliff Krause Memorial for the Modifieds. The Sportsman cars, Fast 4 cars and Factory Stocks will compete in 27-lap races. Main event action starts at 6 p.m.

The post-season action will continue with the 48th annual running of Turkey Derby on Nov. 20, 26-27 during the daylight hours. More information is available at wallspeedwayracing.com

- Advertisment -

Stay Connected


Current Issue