Joshi seemingly elected mayor of Edison Township


In Edison, the four-year term for mayor seemingly goes to Democrat Samip “Sam” Joshi, who received 10,930, or 52.76%, of the votes on Election Day, Nov. 2.

Republican Keith Hahn received 9,459 votes, or 45.66%.

Christo Makropoulos received 301, or 1.45%, of the votes.

There were 28 write-in votes.

Current Mayor Thomas Lankey withdrew his name from the ballot, running as an Independent, prior to Election Day.

For the Edison Township Council, Democrat Margot Harris received 11,043 votes, or 18.81%. Democrat Nishith Patel received 10,553, or 17.97%. Democrat John Poyner received 10,593, or 18.04%.

Republican R. Tali Epstein received 8,753 votes, or 14.91%. Republican Joe Luistro received 9,022 votes, or 15.36%. Republican Payal Mehta received 8,709 votes, or 14.83%.

There were 45 write-in votes.

Three seats are available on the governing body.

Tallies will continue to be updated as mail-in ballots are counted.

Election results are not official until certified by Middlesex County.