Preliminary election results: Democratic slate leads Republican slate for Edison Township Council


There were elections for three, four-year seats on the municipal governing body for Edison on Nov. 2.

The race is contested.

The candidates include all newcomers: Democratic candidates Margot Harris, Nishith Patel and John Poyner, and Republican candidates R. Tali Epstein, Joe Luistro and Payal Mehta.

As of press time on Nov. 3, the Democratic slate – Harris, with 11,043 votes, Poyner, with 10,593 votes and Patel, with 10,553 votes – leads the Republican slate – Luistro, with 9,022 votes, Epstein, with 8,753 votes, and Mehta, with 8,703 votes.

There are 45 write-in votes.

The results listed here reflect what has been posted online by the Middlesex County Clerk’s Office at this time. The results are not final and it is not known when the results will be final.

The results of the election will remain unofficial until they are certified by the county.