Rogers, Ferrante elected to lead Cranbury Township Committee


Barbara Rogers is Cranbury Township’s new mayor following an election by fellow Committee members.

Rogers was nominated by Mike Ferrante at the Township Committee’s reorganization meeting held on Jan. 3. She was unanimously voted to be Cranbury’s mayor for 2022 by members of the Township Committee.

“I am profoundly humbled and thankful for this opportunity to serve the Cranbury residents as mayor in 2022. I enthusiastically welcome Eman El-Badawi to the virtual dais and look forward to continuing to work with Mike Ferrante, Matt Scott and Evelyn Spann,” she said.

“I would like to point out that Township Committee does not do this job alone.”

Rogers added that with the pandemic disruption and change have been the constant over the past few years.

“With the help of township staff, professionals and volunteers on our board and commissions, we will continue to work at being nimble yet deliberate and transparent in our decision making. As we celebrate Cranbury’s 325th anniversary this year it is an opportunity to reflect and do what the township does best: connect the past with present to build a resilient and sustainable Cranbury future.”

Rogers succeeds Ferrante, who served in the role as mayor for 2021.

Ferrante would then be nominated by Committeeman Matt Scott to become deputy mayor. Fellow Township Committee members also voted unanimously to have Ferrante become Deputy Mayor. This will be his second time serving in the position.

He succeeds Rogers.

Prior to the elections for mayor and deputy mayor, Ferrante and Eman El-Badawi were sworn in to serve their three-year terms on the Township Committee. Ferrante was the one returning member to the committee after the November 2021 election.

El-Badawi is serving her first term of public office and first term on the Township Committee. She is the first person of color to serve on the Township Committee.

With El-Badawi’s swearing in complete, the Township Committee for 2022 is led by a majority of women (3-2).

Cranbury Township’s five-member Township Committee consists of Mayor Barbara Rogers (Democrat), Deputy Mayor Mike Ferrante (Democrat), Committeewoman Evelyn Spann (Republican), Committeeman Matt Scott (Democrat) and Eman El-Badawi (Democrat).