Manalapan-Englishtown school board seeks to fill vacancy


John D’Amato of Manalapan, who won election to a three-year term on the Manalapan-Englishtown Regional School District Board of Education in November 2020 and joined the panel in January 2021, has resigned from the board.

D’Amato’s term was scheduled to conclude in December 2023. In response to an inquiry from the News Transcript, district administrators said D’Amato resigned on Feb. 2.

District administrators placed an advertisement in the Feb. 16 edition of the News Transcript announcing that a vacancy on the board exists and soliciting candidates to fill the open seat.

Any individual who is interested in replacing D’Amato must be a resident of Manalapan because D’Amato was one of Manalapan’s eight representatives on the board. Englishtown has one resident who serves on the nine-member board.

In order to be considered for an appointment to the school board, an individual must be a U.S. citizen; at least 18 years old; able to read and write; a resident of Manalapan for at least one year preceding the date of appointment; and registered to vote in the school district, among other qualifications.

Any Manalapan resident who is seeking the appointment, which will run through Dec. 31, 2022, must be able to attend the board’s regular action meeting scheduled for 7:30 p.m. March 15 at the Wemrock Brook School, Manalapan, for the purpose of an interview before the board.

Any qualified Manalapan resident interested in serving on the board should submit a letter of interest and a personal resume to Veronica Wolf, business administrator/board secretary, Manalapan-Englishtown Regional School District, 54 Main St., Englishtown, NJ 07726.

Letters of interest and resumes will be accepted until 4 p.m. March 2. The board will review all qualifying applicants, according to the advertisement that was placed in the newspaper.

The eight current members of the school board are Manalapan residents Brian Graime, Gerald Bruno, Christine Parisi, David Kane, Ryan Urgo, Dotty Porcaro and David Ferber; and Englishtown resident Jesse Tossetti.

School board members in New Jersey serve without compensation.