Incumbent, newcomer lead in Hopewell Valley’s only contested primary race

Incumbent and newcomer lead the Democratic primary race to secure two, three-year open seats on the Hopewell Borough Council.

This was the only contested primary race in Hopewell Valley on June 7.

Hopewell Borough Councilman David Mackie earned 259 votes to lead, newcomer Krista Weaver followed with 247 votes and newcomer Chris Malikschmitt received 187 votes.

Hopewell Township featured two incumbents in a Democratic primary for the two open, three-year term seats on the township committee.

Mayor Courtney Peters-Manning and incumbent Committeeman David Chait were on the ballot. Peters-Manning leads with 1,150 votes and Chait has secured 1,130 votes.

Peters-Manning is seeking a second term.

Chait is seeking his first elected term. He was appointed in 2022 to former Committeewoman Kristin McLaughlin’s seat when she became a Mercer County commissioner.

Pennington featured two incumbents in a Democratic primary for two, three-year terms for Pennington Council.

Councilwoman Kati Angarone leads with 193 votes and Councilman Charles Marciante follows with 154 votes.

Angarone is seeking her first elected three-year term on the borough council. She was appointed to fill former Councilwoman Beverly Mills’ seat this year.

No Republican candidates filed for the primary for Hopewell Township Committee and Pennington Council.

The primary results listed reflect what has been posted online by the Mercer County Clerk’s Office as of June 8.

The results of the primary election will remain unofficial until certified.

The November general election is on Nov. 8.

Story will be updated as more information becomes available.

Exit mobile version