Home Edison Sentinel Edison News

Primary election results for uncontested races in Metuchen and Woodbridge

The council race in Metuchen and Woodbridge were uncontested during the primary election on June 7.

Metuchen Borough Council

There are two, three-year terms open.

Democrat incumbent Dorothy Rasmussen received 1,132 votes, and Lisa Hyman received 1,133 votes.

There are six write-in votes.

Republican candidate Richard Thoren received 305 votes, and Eric Lignell received 304 votes.

There are three write-in votes.

Woodbridge Township Council

There is a one, three-year unexpired Ward 1 term open.

Democrat Sharon McAuliffe, who was appointed in January to fill the seat after the passing of Ward 1 Councilwoman Nancy Drumm, received 742 votes and 11 write-in votes.

Republican candidate John Vrtaric received 338 votes and four write-in votes.

The general election is on Nov. 8.

The primary results listed reflect what has been posted online by the Middlesex County Clerk’s Office as of June 9.

The results of the primary election will remain unofficial until certified.

Provisional ballots have not been counted yet and mail-in ballots postmarked on June 7 are still able to be counted until June 13.

Exit mobile version