Home News Transcript News Transcript News

Police will remain in Freehold Township schools under shared services deals

FREEHOLD TOWNSHIP – The members of the Township Committee have authorized shared services agreements with the two public school districts that operate facilities in Freehold Township to provide special law enforcement officers as security personnel at the schools.

During a meeting on July 26, committee members passed two resolutions which authorize the execution of the agreements with the Freehold Township K-8 School District Board of Education and the Freehold Regional High School District. Both agreements are for Class II and Class III special law enforcement officers.

The resolutions state that the agreements will economize and assure the most efficient use of tax dollars. Members of the Township Committee are of the opinion the agreements are beneficial to taxpayers.

The Class III officers are authorized to exercise full powers and duties similar to those of full-time police officers while they are providing security at Freehold Township schools during hours the schools are normally in session or when the buildings are occupied by students or teachers.

While on duty in his jurisdiction, a Class III officer may respond to offenses or emergencies off school grounds if those situations occur in the officer’s presence while traveling to a school, but an officer may not otherwise be dispatched or dedicated to any assignment off a school property owned by the township.

Class II officers are limited and confined to public schools in Freehold Township; issuing summonses in fire zones, handicap parking areas and no parking zones; serving as an officer for the municipal court; traffic control in special details; serving as a communications operator; and for special duties assigned by the police chief. Class II officers will not be armed when they are off-duty.

Freehold Township has nine public schools.

The Early Childhood Learning Center, C. Richard Applegate School, Joseph J. Catena School, Laura Donovan School, Marshall W. Errickson School, West Freehold School, Barkalow Middle School and Eisenhower Middle School comprise the Freehold Township K-8 School District.

Freehold Township High School is part of the Freehold Regional High School District.

Exit mobile version