Home The Atlantic-Hub Atlantic-Hub Sports

Blewett drives borrowed ride to victory lane with Modified win

WALL TOWNSHIP — When Modified stock car driver Jimmy Blewett found out his own No. 76 would not be ready for competition on Aug. 20 at Wall Stadium Speedway, he struck a deal with Eric Lane to drive Lane’s No. 24 in the 40-lap main event.

The result was that the Howell speedster turned the third fastest lap time in qualifying and then went on to win the night’s feature race, according to a press release.

Blewett wrestled with Brick Township’s Eddie McCarthy for the lead early in the race and then fought off the constant advances of Little Egg Harbor’s Tyler Truex the rest of the way to secure the win.

With just one incident slowing the race on lap eight, the event was a high-speed chase to the checkered flag.

Finishing behind Blewett and Truex were Holmdel’s Andrew Krause, Kyle Scisco of Jackson and Derek Hopkinson of Millstone.

“What a way to end a long emotional week of racing,” Blewett said. “This is definitely one for the good guys. Thank you to Eric and Jeff Lane and their sponsors, Bill Cole with B&R Fabrication, Phil Stefanelli with PSR, my family and everyone who helps.”

Scott Riggleman of Manchester made his first win of the season a big one by taking top honors in the 50-lap race for the Factory Stocks.

Riggleman took the lead on lap seven and then fought off several competitors to the checkered flag.

At the finish, Elliot Wohl of Beachwood was second, with Bryan O’Shea of Neptune City and Brian Osborn and Bob Anderton, both of Howell, wrapping up the top five.

Jonathan Laureigh of Lanoka Harbor made it two wins in a row in the first of two 20-lap races for the Sportsman racers, taking the lead a quarter of the way through the race.

Neil Rutt III of Colts Neck, Jackson’s Jarret DiGiantomasso, Blewett and Freehold’s Tyler Ferris completed the top five.

Tyler Truex won the second Sportsman 20-lap race, his first victory of the year, over DiGiantomasso, Laureigh, Ferrris and Howell’s Kevin Davison.

Mike Alcaro of West Milford won the Legend Cars 20-lap race ahead of Nick Morabito of Waldwick, Cody Critelli of Lakehurst, Ken Nowak of Medford, N.Y., and Justin Emmons of Spring Lake Heights.

Saturday night racing will continue at the Route 34, Wall Township, track on Aug. 27 with the Modifieds competing in the 127-lap “Cliff Krause Memorial.” The Factory Stocks, Fast 4 cars and TQ Midgets are also on the schedule. Qualifying begins at 5 p.m. and main events get underway at 7 p.m.

Exit mobile version