Morehouse to continue serving as Hopewell Borough council president


Share post:

Hopewell Borough Councilman David Mackie and the council’s newest member Krista Weaver took their oath of offices to begin their three-year terms at the Hopewell Borough Council’s reorganization meeting on Jan. 3.

Mackie and Weaver ran for the two open seats during an uncontested race in the November 2022 general election.

- Advertisement -

Weaver is serving her first term on the Council. She replaces former Councilman Chris Fossel, who did not run for re-election.

The Hopewell Borough Council is a six-member body that currently has a 5-1 Democratic majority.

The Council consists of Councilman Charles “Sky” Morehouse, Councilman Ryan Kennedy, Councilwoman Debra Stuhler, Councilwoman Samara McAuliffe, Councilman David Mackie, and Councilwoman Krista Weaver.

Morehouse was nominated by Mackie to serve another term as council president for 2023.

Fellow Council members unanimously appointed Morehouse to serve as council president during a voice vote at the meeting.

“The wheels move forward. It is wonderful to see you all and it is wonderful to be starting the 2023 year. I think it is going to be a good year,” he said.

After the passing of longtime Council President David Knights, Morehouse has continued to serve in the role of council president since the fall of 2013.

Stay Connected


Current Issue

Latest News

Related articles

Roohr becomes Bordentown Township’s provisional police chief

Two veteran police officers moved up the ranks within the Bordentown Township Police Department. Mayor Eugene M. Fuzy swore...

St. Baldrick’s Foundation head-shaving fundraiser set for March 9

The St. Baldrick's Foundation, which raises money for childhood cancer research, has set March 9 for its annual...

Common calendar, Packet papers, Feb. 23

Burlington, Mercer, and Somerset counties New Jersey Blood Services (NJBS), a division of New York Blood Center, which provides...

Princeton University proposes new Quantum Institute

Princeton University plans to build a new Quantum Insitute for Quantum Science& Engineering facility that will be part...