HomeEast Brunswick SentinelEB News'Smart Workplaces' honored for providing commuting alternatives

‘Smart Workplaces’ honored for providing commuting alternatives

MONROE —  Numerous Middlesex County companies and schools received the prestigious 2016 New Jersey Smart Workplaces Award during the annual membership meeting of Keep Middlesex Moving (KMM).

The awards honor companies for their outstanding achievements in providing alternative commuting opportunities for their employees, thus reducing traffic and congestion and improving air quality, according to a statement prepared by KMM. Awards were presented at Forsgate Country Club in Monroe on May 19.

Platinum recipients were Rutgers University, IEEE, Johnson & Johnson Health Care Systems and Johnson & Johnson.

Gold award winners were the Township of Woodbridge, Hyatt Regency New Brunswick, Firmenich Inc., Township of Plainsboro and Township of Edison.

Silver recipients include Greater Media, Borough of Metuchen, Keep Middlesex Moving, City of Perth Amboy, City of New Brunswick, North Brunswick Township High School and Saint Peter’s University Hospital.

Bronze recipients were the Borough of Sayreville, Granville Y. Brady Jr., Magyar Bank, Hoagland Longo Moran Dunst & Doukas LLP, Township of North Brunswick, Middlesex County Regional Chamber of Commerce, County of Middlesex, Northfield Bank, Wilentz Goldman & Spitzer, State Theatre, South Brunswick Township, Wells Fargo, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Middlesex County Workforce Development, Township of East Brunswick, Monroe Township, Piscataway Township and the New Brunswick Parking Authority.

“KMM’s programs promote mobility, safety and sustainability. But these programs can only be implemented with the help of our partners, like the employers we are honoring with Smart Workplace Awards,” said KMM’s Executive Director William Neary.

In addition, the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) recipients were the City of New Brunswick and Oak Ridge Heights Elementary School in Woodbridge (silver); Campbell Elementary School in Metuchen (bronze); and William C. McGinnis Middle School and Samuel E. Shull Middle School, both in Perth Amboy, for taking the first step.

“The NJ SRTS Recognition Program is a way for KMM to thank our school and municipal partners for their hard work throughout the year making it safer and easier for children and their families to walk and bike to school. We hope that our combined efforts can create a better neighborhood not just for schoolchildren, but for everyone who lives, walks and bikes in these neighborhoods,” said SRTS Coordinator Peter Bilton.

For more information, contact Cristina C. Fowler at cfowler@kmm.org.




- Advertisment -

Stay Connected


Current Issue