Middlesex County candidates file for June 6 primary


Share post:

The following candidates have filed petitions to run in the primary election on June 6:

Jamesburg Borough Council: two three-year terms – uncontested race between Democrat incumbents Coleen Rutsky and Daria Ludas.

- Advertisement -

Milltown Borough Council: two three-year terms – uncontested race between Democrats Phil Zambrana and Trina Jensen Mehr and Republicans Stacy D. Sullivan and incumbent Ronald Dixon.

Monroe Township Council: Council-at-large seat uncontested between Democratic incumbent Miriam Cohen and Republican Martin J. Herrmann; Ward 1 seat uncontested between Democrat incumbent Elizabeth A. Schneider and Republican John Krulewski; Ward 2 seat uncontested between Democrat Leonard Baskin and Republican John Marullo; Ward 3 seat uncontested between Democrat incumbent Councilman Michael Leibowitz and Republican Charles Dipierro.
South River Borough Council: two three-year terms – uncontested race between Republican incumbents John Sapata and James Gurchensky and Democrats Sandra M. Adelino and Ruell C. Brown.
There will be no primary race in East Brunswick or Spotswood.

Middlesex County surrogate: five-year term, vote for one – uncontested race between Democrat incumbent Kevin J. Hoagland of New Brunswick and Republican Karim L. Nicola of Old Bridge.

Middlesex County Freeholder Board: three-year term, vote for two – Democrat incumbents Charles Tomaro of Edison and Leslie Koppel of Monroe, and Republicans Mina Kolta of Old Bridge and Priti Pandya-Patel of Old Bridge, and Central Jersey Progressive Democrats Atif Nazir of Piscataway and Catherine Hunt of Monroe.

Middlesex County Freeholder Board: one year unexpired term, vote for one – uncontested race between Democrat incumbent Shanti Narra of North Brunswick and Republican Susan Zellner Hogan of Woodbridge.

State Committee: four-year term for Democrats, vote for five committeewomen and two committeemen – Democrats Letitia Coughlin of Fords, Yvonn Lopez of Perth Amboy, Franceline Ehret of Jamesburg, Shawn Taylor of East Brunswick, Mildred Scott of Piscataway, Bharat Patel of Princeton, Satish Poondi of Edison, Geraldine Piegdon of Edison, Matthew Vaughn of South River and Robert M. Schwartz of Plainsboro; and from the Main Street Not Wall Street party, Adeel Ahmed of Port Reading, Daniel Chulak of New Brunswick and Steven Grillo of Sayreville.

State Committee: four-year term for Republicans, vote for one committeewoman and one committeeman – uncontested race between April Bengivenga of South Plainfield and Donald Katz of East Brunswick.

 Candidates in the Independent party have until June 6 to declare their candidacy for the November general election.

Stay Connected


Current Issue

Latest News

Related articles

Windows of Understanding addresses social justice issues through art

For husband and wife, Dan and Peichi Waite, the word dignity played a big role when putting together...

Two pedestrians have died, one is in serious condition in three separate pedestrian, motor vehicle incidents in East Brunswick

EAST BRUNSWICK - Police are investigating three separate pedestrian incidents involving motor vehicles, two of which have resulted...

Hatikvah International Academy Charter School among top statewide performers on standardized test

EAST BRUNSWICK - The state Department of Education has released its statewide results of the New Jersey Student...

A musician’s journey from professional drummer to film composer

With the upcoming release of Bezos:The Beginning, Professional composer, Colin Bell, shared his creative process on scoring his...