Millstone government will hold reorganization meeting Jan. 2


MILLSTONE – The Township Committee in Millstone Township will hold its 2020 reorganization meeting at 7 p.m. on Jan. 2.

The annual meeting will be held in the municipal courtroom, which is located at 215 Millstone Road.

The meeting is open to the public and formal action will be taken. The reorganization meeting marks the start of the new year for the municipality’s government.

Professionals, including the township engineer and township attorney, will be appointed. Residents will be named to the township’s boards, committees and commissions.

The dates when meetings of the Township Committee will be held during 2020 will be provided.

The committee members – Republicans Gary Dorfman, Al Ferro, Nancy Grbelja, Michael Kuczinski and Fiore Masci – will elect a mayor and deputy mayor for 2020.

Under Millstone’s form of municipal government, the mayor and deputy mayor are not directly elected by voters. Two members of the governing body are selected by their fellow committee members to serve as mayor and deputy mayor for the year.

During the meeting, Ferro will be sworn in to begin serving a three-year term on the committee that he won in the 2019 general election. He was unopposed in the election.

Ferro has been a member of the committee since September 2018, when he was appointed to fill a vacant seat for the remainder of the year. He succeeded Bob Kinsey, who resigned from the governing body shortly before his passing.

In November 2018, Ferro and Democrat Raymond Dothard ran for election to serve the final year (2019) of Kinsey’s term. Ferro won the one-year term.