Auto racing and 70th anniversary bash set for Wall Stadium


Auto racing fans will not only have the opportunity to watch six feature races on Aug. 1, they will also be able to enjoy a celebration of the “70th Anniversary Season” at Wall Stadium Speedway, Wall Township.

The pit area will open at 12:30 p.m. with a paid practice from 2-3 p.m. Regular practice will run from 3-5 p.m. Grandstand seating will open at 4:30 p.m. with a limited number of tickets available. All tickets will be sold at the gate on a first come, first served basis, according to a press release.

Qualifying will start at 5:30 p.m., before the anniversary celebration and the six main events begin at 7 p.m.

Top Modified racers including opening night winner Derek Hopkinson of Toms River, Steven Reed of Jackson, Ricky Collins of Willow Grove, Pa., Andrew Krause of Holmdel, Kenny Van Wickle of Manasquan and Brick Township’s Dom Fattaruso, among others, are expected to see action, according to the press release.

Opening night winners Eric Lane of Howell (Sportsman), Chris Silvestri of Hazlet (Limited Late Models), Rich Maher of Neptune City (4-Cylinder Stock), Bryan O’Shea of Neptune City (Factory Stock) and Daniel Carter of Cortland, N.Y. (Legend Car) are all expected to participate in the evening’s racing events.

The Modifieds are set for a 40-lap main event and the Sportsman cars, Limited Late Models, Factory Stocks, Legend Cars and 4-Cylinder Stocks are all scheduled for 25-lap feature races on the one-third mile high banked paved oval, according to the press release.

The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and the website is